< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Long-serving scorer honoured as a Cricket World Club & Ground Hero

Marion Lawrence with chairman, David Mackay (left) and club captain Richard Harding
Marion Lawrence with chairman, David Mackay (left) and club captain Richard Harding
©Bute CC

Marion Lawrence, Bute County Cricket Club's long serving scorer, was centre stage on the top table at the club's annual dinner awards at Rothesay's Victoria Hotel on Saturday night as players and guests honoured her for her unstinting service in fair weather and foul.

Marion, who turned 80 earlier this year, and has been keeping score since the 1998 season, was presented with a Cricket World Club and Ground Heroes award by Mrs Kate Downie, wife of president Ian Downie.

One of the other key trophies of the evening was the new Sangakarra award in recognition of Kumar Sangakkara, the most successful batsman is Test match history since Donald Bradman, becoming the club's first associate member, which was presented to Sam Miller because of his good humour, calming influence and ability to bond everyone together.
Earlier, Alister Booth of the Rothesay and District Pipe Band renewed his acquaintance with the club by piping players and guests into the Victoria's Balmoral Suite function room at the start of the dinner.
Captain, Richard Harding entertained the company with a risque poem about cricketers and fair maidens, while Sam Miller reviewed the highlight game of the year - the visit of MC Lions of Mumbai - and vice-captain Jack Deans talked about the developing links between Bute and Sri Lanka at both player and school levels.
Club chairman, David Mackay received his own special award and was commended by Richard for his limitless ambition together with the huge amount of work he has undertaken in the last nine months in setting new visions for the club, and his partner, Clubman trophy winner Barbara Lloyd whose creative talents have made a major contribution to the success of the special events undertaken during the 2015 season.
Kate Downie presented the following trophies: Cricket World Club and Ground Heroes award – Marion Lawrence; Batting – Richard Harding; Bowling – Alan Peacock; Catches – Jack Deans; Fielding – Jack Deans; Players' Player – Richard Harding; Top Junior Player – Jack Deans; Most Improved Junior – Saul Sykes; Sangakarra award – Sam Miller; Chairman's Pick – Craig Guy and Steve Mason; Chairman's Pick Junior – John Wilson; Captain's Pick – Greg Mercer-Brown; Clubman Tropy – Barbara Lloyd; Junior Clubman – Adam Guy; Stephen Garrick Award – Mike Archbold.

© Cricket World 2015

Nominate a Performance of the Week
Become a Profiled Club