Lord's Set To Host Fifth World Cup Final

Lord's last hosted the World Cup final in 1999, when Australia beat Pakistan
Lord's last hosted the World Cup final in 1999, when Australia beat Pakistan
©REUTERS / Action Images

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has proposed Lord's as the host venue for the final of the 2019 World Cup, which would be a record fifth time the showpiece event is held at the ground.

Lord's hosted the final in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999 and has also been proposed as the host of the 2017 Women's World Cup final.

The ECB has proposed Old Trafford and Edgbaston as hosts for the semi-finals and proposed that group games are held at Chester-le-Street, Headingley, Trent Bridge, Cardiff, Bristol, Southampton and Taunton.

Meanwhile, the ECB has also confirmed which grounds will host major matches between 2017 and 2019 including the 2019 Ashes.

Edgbaston, Headingley, Lord's, Old Trafford and The Oval have been chosen to host the Australians.

England host the West Indies for three Tests, five One-Day Internationals and a Twenty20 International in 2017.

They then play Tests against Pakistan and India in 2018 as well as both ODIs and T20Is against Australia and India.

2019 sees a busy summer which includes ODIs and a T20I against Pakistan as well as the five-Test Ashes and the World Cup.

England will also play the winner of the ICC Test Challenge at Lord's in a one-off Test. The ICC Test Challenge will see the winner of the ICC Intercontinental Cup play the lowest ranked Test side as at 31st December 2017 in home and away matches.

The first ICC Test Challenge is scheduled to be played in 2018.

The Oval is scheduled to host its second Champions Trophy final after first doing so in 2004 after the ECB proposed to use the same three venues - Cardiff, Edgbaston and The Oval - for the 2017 event.


Tests v West Indies: Edgbaston, Headingley, Lord's
ODIs v West Indies: Bristol, Old Trafford, The Oval, Southampton, Trent Bridge
T20I v West Indies: Chester-le-Street

Champions Trophy: Cardiff, Edgbaston, The Oval

Champions Trophy final: The Oval


Tests v Pakistan: Headingley, Lord's

ODIs v Australia: Cardiff, Chester-le-Street, Old Trafford, The Oval, Trent Bridge
T20I v Australia: Edgbaston

Tests v India: Edgbaston, Lord's, The Oval, Southampton, Trent Bridge
ODIs v India: Bristol, Headingley, Lord's, Old Trafford, Trent Bridge
T20I v India: Cardiff


ODIs v Pakistan: Bristol, Chester-le-Street, Headingley, The Oval, Southampton
T20I v Pakistan: Cardiff

Ashes Tests v Australia: Edgbaston, Headingley, Lord's, Old Trafford, The Oval

England v winners of ICC Test Challange: Lord's.

World Cup final: Lord's (subject to ICC approval)

World Cup semi-finals: Edgbaston, Old Trafford (subject to ICC approval)

World Cup group games: Bristol, Cardiff, Chester-le-Street, Edgbaston, Headingley, Lord's, Old Trafford, Southampton, Taunton, The Oval, Trent Bridge (subject to ICC approval)

© Cricket World 2014