< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

LPL 2021 Match 17: Colombo Stars bowled out as Jaffna Kings cruise to victory

Jaffna Kings Jayden Seales
Jaffna Kings Jayden Seales

Tom Kohler-Cadmore top scores, as Colombo Stars are bowled all out as Jaffna Kings cruise to an easy 102 run win today at the R.Premadasa Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo.

Match Summary

Colombo Stars vs Jaffna Kings, Match 17, Lanka Premier League

Colombo Stars 91/10 (15.5 ov)

Jaffna Kings 193/5 (20 ov)

Result - Jaffna Kings won by 102 runs.


Jaffna Kings won the toss and elected to bat first, their openers Tom Kohler-Cadmore (92) and Upul Tharanga (37) putting on a show for the fans, despite Naveen-ul-Haq's (3/27) best efforts.

They went in at 193/5 so it was always going to be an uphill battle the for Stars batsmen. Their innings started slowly, never really getting into 2nd gear, Tom Banton (30) the only one to add any notable runs.

It was a story of bowlers; Jayden Seales (4/13), Vijayakanth Viyaskanth (3/32) and Maheesh Theekshana (2/25) bowling Colombo Stars all out for 91, leading to a 102 run win for the Jaffna Kings.

Match Stats

Jaffna Kings Fall of wickets: 1-110 (Upul Tharanga - 11.4 ov), 2-151 (Ashan Randika - 15.5 ov), 3-152 (Tom Kohler-Cadmore - 16.1 ov), 4-171 (Thisara Perera - 18.1 ov), 5-171 (Shoaib Malik - 18.3 ov)

Colombo Stars Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Angelo Mathews - 2.4 ov), 2-19 (Ashan Priyanjan - 2.5 ov), 3-24 (Dhananjaya de Silva - 4.1 ov), 4-44 (Kusal Perera - 7.4 ov), 5-55 (Dinesh Chandimal - 10.1 ov), 6-68 (Keemo Paul - 11.2 ov), 7-71 (Jeffrey Vandersay - 12.4 ov), 8-71 (Tom Banton - 13.1 ov), 9-83 (Dushmantha Chameera - 15.1 ov), 10-91 (Naveen-ul-Haq - 15.5 ov)

Playing XI

COLOMBO STARS - Kusal Perera (WK), Angelo Mathews (C), Ashan Priyanjan, Tom Banton, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Keemo Paul, Dushmantha Chameera, Jeffrey Vandersay, Naveen-ul-Haq, Ravi Rampaul

JAFFNA KINGS - Upul Tharanga (WK), Wanindu Hasaranga, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Shoaib Malik, Ashan Randika, Thisara Perera (C), Ashen Bandara, Maheesh Theekshana, Usman Shinwari, Jayden Seales, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth

Match Details

Date: 16th December, 09:30 AM

Venue: R.Premadasa Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo

Toss: Jaffna Kings won the toss & elected to bat

Umpires: Hemantha Boteju, Prageeth Rambukwella

© Cricket World 2021