< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

LPL Match 6: Salt, Zadran half-centuries see Giants to victory

R.Premadasa Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo
R.Premadasa Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo

Colombo Stars pushed it as far as they could, but struggled against the Giants bowlers later on, losing by 18 runs today at the R.Premadasa Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo.

Match Summary

Colombo Stars vs Dambulla Giants, Match 6, Lanka Premier League

Colombo Stars 177/10 (18.5 ov)

Dambulla Giants 195/6 (20 ov)

Result - Dambulla Giants won by 18 runs.


Up to bat first Dambulla Giants wasted no time, Philip Salt (62) smashing ball after ball, Najibullah Zadran (53) adding another half-century later in the innings.

Dushmantha Chameera (3/34) was the pick of the Stars bowlers, but they just couldn't get those crucial wickets when they need them, leaving them with a huge total to chase.

Stars batsmen all chipped in some runs; Tom Banton (23), Kusal Perera (20), Dinesh Chandimal (26) and Dhananjaya de Silva (21) adding enough runs to give Colombo some hope.

It wasn't enough in the end though, all of Giants bowlers chipped in some wickets, Nuwan Pradeep (3-50) the stand out as Stars were bowled all out for 177.

Match Stats

Dambulla Giants Fall of wickets: 1-57 (Niroshan Dickwella - 3.3 ov), 2-65 (Dilshan Munaweera - 4.2 ov), 3-69 (Sohaib Maqsood - 5.2 ov), 4-100 (Philip Salt - 10.2 ov), 5-177 (Dasun Shanaka - 18.1 ov), 6-182 (Najibullah Zadran - 18.4 ov)

Colombo Stars Fall of wickets: 1-26 (Tom Banton - 2.4 ov), 2-52 (Kusal Perera - 4.6 ov), 3-71 (Pathum Nissanka - 8.4 ov), 4-74 (Sherfane Rutherford - 9.5 ov), 5-78 (Naveen-ul-Haq - 10.4 ov), 6-114 (Dhananjaya de Silva - 13.6 ov), 7-137 (Keemo Paul - 15.4 ov), 8-145 (Dinesh Chandimal - 16.6 ov), 9-163 (Seekkuge Prasanna - 17.5 ov), 10-177 (Dushmantha Chameera - 18.5 ov)

Playing XI

COLOMBO STARS - Pathum Nissanka, Tom Banton, Kusal Perera (WK), Dinesh Chandimal, Sherfane Rutherford, Dhananjaya de Silva (C), Seekkuge Prasanna, Keemo Paul, Dushmantha Chameera, Naveen-ul-Haq, Akila Dananjaya

DAMBULLA GIANTS - Philip Salt, Niroshan Dickwella (WK), Dilshan Munaweera, Sohaib Maqsood, Dasun Shanaka (C), Najibullah Zadran, Chamika Karunaratne, Ramesh Mendis, Tharindu Ratnayake, Nuwan Pradeep, Imran Tahir

Match Details

Date: 8th December, 09:30 AM

Venue: R.Premadasa Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo

Toss: Dambulla Giants won the toss & elected to bat

Umpires: Rohitha Kottahachchi, Kumar Dharmasena

© Cricket World 2021