< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

LSG v RCB, Eliminator: Patidar fires Bangalore into second qualifier contest

Royal Challengers Bangalore made it to the second Qualifier of IPL 2022 after they beat Lucknow Super Giants by 14 runs at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Wednesday night.

After being asked to bat, Bangalore posted 207 for four in their 20 overs. In their response Lucknow finished on 193 for six in their 20 overs.

Earlier, Bangalore was carried forward first by Virat Kohli (25) and number three Rajat Patidar. The pair put on 66 runs for the second wicket. Patidar then carried forward the innings thanks to a fifth wicket stand with Dinesh Karthik. Together Patidar and Karthik put on an unbroken 92 runs for the fifth wicket. Patidar finished unbeaten on 112 off 54 balls with 12 boundaries and seven sixes. Karthik ended on an unbeaten 37 off 23 balls with five boundaries and a six. Bangalore ended on 207 for four in their 20 overs.

In their response, Lucknow lost their top-order cheaply. Captain Lokesh Rahul then took charge of the chase with Deepak Hooda. The duo added 96 runs for the third wicket. Hooda fell for 45 off 26 balls with one boundaries and four sixes.The other batters did not get enough opportunities to contribute to the chase. Rahul finally fell for 79 off 58 balls with three boundaries and five sixes. In the end Lucknow finished on 193 for six in their 20 overs. For Bangalore the best bowler was Josh Hazlewood (3-43). 

Match Summary
Royal Challengers Bangalore: 207-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Faf du Plessis-0.5 ov), 2-70 (Virat Kohli-8.3 ov), 3-86 (Glenn Maxwell-10.3 ov), 4-115 (Mahipal Lomror-13.1 ov)

Lucknow Super Giants: 193-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Quinton de Kock-0.6 ov), 2-41 (Manan Vohra-4.3 ov), 3-137 (Deepak Hooda-14.4 ov), 4-173 (Marcus Stoinis-17.3 ov), 5-180 (KL Rahul-18.4 ov), 6-180 (Krunal Pandya-18.5 ov)


Result: Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 14 runs

Playing XI
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis (captain), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Mahipal Lomror, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Shahbaz Ahmed, Wanindu Hasaranga, Harshal Patel, Josh Hazlewood, Mohammed Siraj

Lucknow Super Giants: Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), KL Rahul (captain), Evin Lewis, Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya, Ayush Badoni, Marcus Stoinis, Dushmantha Chameera, Avesh Khan, Mohsin Khan, Ravi Bishnoi

Match Details
Toss: Lucknow Super Giants, elected to field
Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, Michael Gough (On-field Umpires); Bruce Oxenford (TV Umpire); Virender Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee) 

© Cricket World 2022