< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

LV County Championship Final - Warwickshire wrap up Bob Willis Trophy victory on 4th day at Lord’s

Warwickshire wrap up Bob Willis Trophy victory on 4th day at Lord’s
Warwickshire wrap up Bob Willis Trophy victory on 4th day at Lord’s

Warwickshire completed an emphatic innings and 199 runs victory over Lancashire to wrap up dominant Bob Willis Trophy victory on the fourth day at Lord’s.

Match Summary

Warwickshire 518/10 (147.3 ov)

Lancashire 78/10 (27.5 ov) & 241/10 (68.2 ov)

Warwickshire won by an inning and 199 runs


The Bears claimed the final four wickets they required today inside 70 minutes to bowl Lancashire out for 241 and begin trophy-winning celebrations for the second time in a week.

Warwickshire, the county Bob Willis proudly represented for 13 years, lifted the LV= Insurance County Championship last Friday after pipping Lancashire for the title, but this contest was all one-way traffic.

Lancashire never recovered after crashing from six for 12 on the opening morning, eventually scrambling to 78, before Warwickshire piled on 518 on the back of centuries from captain Will Rhodes and Rob Yates.

Lancashire made a better fist of it with the bat second time round, headlined by 65 from young opener George Balderson on his first-ever trip to London, but after conceding a 440-run lead their main priority was avoiding the indignity of the largest defeat in their 156-year history of playing first-class cricket.

Late hitting from the tail at least ensured they progressed past the innings and 220 run loss at the hands of West Indies in 1950.

Teenage debutant Manraj Johal claimed the first wicket of the day when he slipped a full delivery past Luke Wood and into his leg stump for a breezy 28.

Rob Jones was then lbw propping forward to Danny Briggs who then had Jack Blatherwick stumped as he attempted to swing a second six of the over into the stands.

Tom Bailey supplied some lusty hitting to ensure Lancashire also narrowly also avoided their biggest defeat against a county opposition – an innings and 220-run loss to Yorkshire in 1938 - before the next ball a top-edge was expertly pouched by keeper Michael Burgess running away towards fine leg.

Left-arm spinner Danny Briggs finished with three for 58 while Liam Norwell, who claimed the final wicket, returned three for 60.

Warwickshire captain, Will Rhodes, said: “I don’t know if the MCC Champions game is happening next year, but it might be a cool way to start the year, these two teams playing against each other in a foreign country.

“There has been a lot of highs and lows in the last week and to come back two days after that (the last round of Championship match) was always going to be hard for one team.

“It is a bit of a surprise that none of our players made it into the team of the year. It just shows the depth we’ve had. I think it was well documented we hadn’t passed 400, always someone different performed every game and we played on good wickets that have gone four days.”


Lancashire captain, Dane Vilas, said: “The body is a bit tired, especially these last five weeks have been really tough. I think the boys are a little bit upset with me for losing the toss but Warwickshire bowled really well, and it was really hard to come back from 12 for six.

“We’ve had a roller coaster of emotions but we were really keen to come here and win the trophy for Bob. It is a little bit disappointing the way we played but all credit to Warwickshire, deserved champions of both trophies.”

Playing XIs

Warwickshire - Dominic Sibley, Rob Yates, Will Rhodes(c), Sam Hain, Matthew Lamb, Michael Burgess(wk), Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Craig Miles, Liam Norwell, Manraj Johal

Lancashire - Alex Davies(wk), George Balderson, Luke Wells, Josh Bohannon, Dane Vilas(c), Steven Croft, Rob Jones, Luke Wood, Tom Bailey, Jack Blatherwick, Matthew Parkinson


Match Details

Start Time: 10:30

Toss: Warwickshire won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Lord's, London

Officials: David Millns, Michael Burns, Alexander Wharf, Dean Cosker

©Cricket World 2021