LV= County Championship Round Three Preview

LV= County Championship Round Three Preview
LV= County Championship Round Three Preview
©REUTERS/Philip Brown. Picture Supplied by Action Images

The favourites for this year’s LV= County Championship, Warwickshire* and Middlesex, sit out the third round of matches. Nottinghamshire will hope to add their name to the list of title contenders with a win at Derby, while Surrey captain Graeme Smith is still aiming for his first win after the rain-affected draw against Somerset. In Division Two, Northamptonshire will want to continue their good run with a win against injury-hit Gloucestershire. Cricket World previews all of the week’s matches, which see the return to action of several England players.

Third round fixtures: (all matches start at 1100 BST, 1000 GMT)
Division One:
Derbyshire v Nottinghamshire at Derby
The home side have made only one change from the eleven that got bowled out for just 60 by Middlesex with Anguilla-born all-rounder Chesney Hughes losing his place after scores of four and nought. David Wainwright and Ross Whiteley are both named in the 12-man squad, with Wainwright the favourite to replace him.

Derbyshire squad: Wayne Madsen (captain), Billy Godleman, Wes Durston, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Dan Redfern, David Wainwright, Ross Whiteley, Jonathan Clare, Tom Poynton, Tony Palladino, Tim Groenewald, Mark Turner.

Nottinghamshire have Stuart Broad available for the match, with him coming into the squad for Andy Carter from the side that lost to Middlesex a fortnight ago. Harry Gurney is also named in the 12-strong party but is unlikely to start.

Nottinghamshire squad: Chris Read (captain), Alex Hales, Ed Cowan, Michael Lumb, James Taylor, Samit Patel, Riki Wessels, Stuart Broad,  Ajmal Shahzad, Luke Fletcher, Andre Adams, Harry Gurney.

Durham v Yorkshire at Chester-le-Street
Durham have resisted the urge to tinker with their batting line-up following the humiliating defeat against Warwickshire, with Mark Wood and Michael Richardson again added to the eleven that were on duty at Edgbaston. Back-up wicket-keeper Richardson could play as a specialist batsman in place of any of the top three.

Durham squad: Paul Collingwood (captain), Mark Stoneman, Keaton Jennings, Will Smith, Dale Benkenstein, Ben Stokes, Michael Richardson, Phil Mustard, Scott Borthwick, Callum Thorp, Chris Rushworth, Graham Onions, Mark Wood.

Yorkshire welcome back England players Joe Root and Tim Bresnan into their 12-man squad, with Alex Lees and Moin Ashraf dropping out from the 13 that lost to Sussex. Another man missing is spinner Azeem Rafiq, meaning that Adil Rashid is almost certain to make the starting eleven for the first time this season. Rafiq has been ruled out for six weeks after scans revealed a problem with his knee.

Yorkshire squad: Andrew Gale (captain), Adam Lyth, Joe Root, Phil Jaques, Jonny Bairstow, Gary Ballance, Tim Bresnan, Adil Rashid, Liam Plunkett, Ryan Sidebottom, Steven Patterson, Jack Brooks.

Surrey v Sussex at The Oval
The hosts have named an unchanged 13-man squad from the draw against Somerset, with coach Chris Adams professing himself “pleased” with their performance in that match. One man who is likely to start this time is Chris Tremlett, with Gary Keedy the most vulnerable after taking just one wicket on his Surrey debut.

Surrey squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Rory Burns, Arun Harinath, Vikram Solanki, Zander de Bruyn, Steven Davies, Gary Wilson, Gareth Batty, Stuart Meaker, Chris Tremlett, Jade Dernbach, Gary Keedy, Tim Linley.

Sussex welcome back England wicket-keeper Matt Prior, who replaces Joe Gatting from the eleven that won beat Yorkshire in the opening round of matches. Former Warwickshire seamer Andy Miller is also included in the 12-strong squad. The Sussex team will wear black armbands on the first day of the match in honour of Craig Botting who tragically passed away recently. Botting was a Sussex member, player for local club Balcombe CC, and friend of Ben  Brown.

Sussex squad: Ed Joyce (captain), Chris Nash, Luke Wells, Michael Yardy, Matt Prior, Rory Hamilton-Brown, Ben Brown, Chris Jordan, Steve Magoffin, James Anyon, Monty Panesar, Andy Miller.

Division Two:
Gloucestershire v Northamptonshire at Bristol
The home side have been hit by another injury to their seam attack with James Fuller ruled out with a broken finger picked up during the draw against Essex. He joins Ian Saxelby and Paul Muchall on the sidelines. Craig Miles is his replacement and will battle with off-spinner Jack Taylor for the final place in the starting line-up.

Gloucestershire squad: Michael Klinger (captain), Chris Dent, Dan Housego, Alex Gidman, Hamish Marshall, Benny Howell, Will Gidman, Cameron Herring, Jack Taylor, David Payne, Liam Norwell, Craig Miles.

Northamptonshire coach David Ripley has said that the county will field the same eleven that thrashed Essex last week with all-rounder Matthew Spriegel also in the 12-strong party.

Northamptonshire squad: Stephen Peters (captain), Kyle Coetzer, Alex Wakely, David Sales, Rob Newton, Andrew Hall, James Middlebrook, David Murphy, David Willey, Steven Crook, Trent Copeland, Matthew Spriegel.

Hampshire v Worcestershire at Southampton
Hampshire have made no changes to the side that almost beat Leicestershire in the first round of matches, with David Griffiths added to the eleven on duty then. He will be hopeful of forcing his way into the starting eleven on this occasion after taking five wickets last week against Loughborough MCCU and could make the cut if the hosts opt for an all-seam attack.

Hampshire squad: Jimmy Adams (captain), Michael Carberry, Liam Dawson, George Bailey, James Vince, Sean Ervine, Adam Wheater, Chris Wood, David Balcombe, James Tomlinson, Danny Briggs, David Griffiths.

The visitors have already named their eleven, with Richard Joens coming into the team at the expense of David Lucas from the side that were comfortably beaten by Glamorgan last week.

Worcestershire XI: Daryl Mitchell (captain), Matthew Pardoe, Moeen Ali, Thilan Samaraweera, Alexei Kervezee, Neil Pinner, Michael Johnson, Gareth Andrew, Richard Jones, Chris Russell, Alan Richardson.

Lancashire v Kent at Old Trafford
England spearhead James Anderson is available for Lancashire as they look for their first win of the season. He will play instead of either Wayne White or more probably Kyle Hogg unless the hosts take the unlikely option of going for an all-seam attack and drop left-arm tweaker Simon Kerrigan.

Lancashire squad: Glen Chapple (captain), Paul Horton, Luke Procter, Karl Brown, Ashwell Prince, Simon Katich, Steven Croft, Gareth Cross, Wayne White, Kyle Hogg, James Anderson, Simon Kerrigan, Tom Smith.

Kent have not yet confirmed their squad, although it is unlikely to be vastly different from the one that was on duty during the high-scoring draw against Leicestershire last week. Ashley Shaw is expected to again be the back-up seamer and will be hoping to displace Calum Haggett, with Daniel Bell-Drummond still omitted from the batting line-up.

Kent XI (probable): Sam Northeast, Rob Key, Brendan Nash, Mike Powell, Darren Stevens, Geraint Jones, James Tredwell (captain), Matt Coles, Calum Haggett, Mark Davies, Charlie Shreck. 

Warwickshire start their match against Somerset on Thursday, preview to follow tomorrow.

Continues on page two...