< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Maharaj, Shamsi picked for South Africa Test series against Australia

Maharaj, Shamsi picked for South Africa Test series against Australia
Morne Morkel returns to the South Africa Test squad after recovering from a disc problem.
©REUTERS / Action Images

South Africa have added a bit of mystery to their spin department for the upcoming Test series in Australia after including Tabraiz Shamsi and Keshav Maharaj in the 16-man squad.

In his only appearance in the ongoing One-Day International series against Australia, Shamsi picked three wickets and conceded just 36 runs, playing a vital role in dismissing the visitors for 167.

Maharaj, a left-arm spinner from Dolphins was rewarded for his successful domestic performances and in his recent first-class appearance for the club against the Warriors, he picked a 13-wicket haul and scored 72 with the bat as well.

The duo will take the places of Wayne Parnell and Dane Piedt from the squad that faced New Zealand at home recently.

Morne Morkel will also return to bolster the bowling line up after recovering from a disc problem and will join forces with Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander and Kagiso Rabada while Rilee Rossouw has been rewarded for his consistent performances in the limited overs series, taking the place of Stiaan van Zyl.

Faf du Plessis will continue leading the team in the absence of AB de Villiers while Chris Morris has been sidelined with a knee injury.

The three-match Test series will be played in Perth, Hobart and Adelaide with the first game kicking-off on 3rd November.

South Africa Test squad:

Faf du Plessis (captain), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Stephen Cook, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Morne Morkel, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Dane Vilas

© Cricket World 2016