Maharoof, Herath Recalled To Sri Lanka Asia Cup Squad

Maharoof, Herath Recalled To Sri Lanka Asia Cup Squad
Maharoof, Herath Recalled To Sri Lanka Asia Cup Squad
©Action Images / Andrew Couldridge Livepic

Sri Lanka have handed recalls to all-rounder Farveez Maharoof and left-arm spinner Rangana Herath in naming their 15-man squad for the defence of their Asia Cup title.

They will be hosting the tournament, which begins on 15th June, and their squad also sees regulars Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lasith Malinga and Muttiah Muralitharan return having been rested for the tour of Zimbabwe.

Having impressed during their tri-series win in Africa, opener Upul Tharanga maintains his place but despite registering a maiden century during the tournament, young wicket-keeper Dinesh Chandimal misses out as specialist batsman Thilina Kandamby returns to the squad and Thilan Samaraweera retains his place.

Maharoof last played an ODI in having made his debut in April 2004 while Herath's last ODI appearance came back in .

With the inclusion of off-spinner Suraj Randiv, Herath will be Sri Lanka's third-choice specialist spinner while another notable omission is that of veteran opener Sanath Jayasuriya, who struggled in the ICC World Twenty20, where Sri Lanka made it to the semi-final stage before losing to eventual champions England.

There is no place in the squad for slow bowler Ajantha Mendis or paceman Dilhara Fernando while all-rounders Thissara Perera and Jeevan Mendis, who also travelled to Zimbabwe, miss out.

Chandimal, Perera and Mendis had already been named in Sri Lanka's A squad to take on Australia A in Brisbane, however.

Sri Lanka begin their campaign against Pakistan on 15th June before they play Bangladesh on 18th June and then India on 22nd June. The final is on 24th June and all matches are taking place in Dambulla.

Sri Lanka Asia Cup squad: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Muttiah Muralitharan (vice-captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Rangana Herath, Thilina Kandamby, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Mahela Jayawardene, Farveez Maharoof, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Suraj Randiv, Thilan Samaraweera, Upul Tharanga, Chanaka Welagedara

© Cricket World 2010