< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Maqsood 85 help Multan Sultans complete double over Peshawar Zalmi

Sohail Tanvir registered figures of 14 for three
Sohail Tanvir registered figures of 14 for three

Multan Sultans 183-3 (Maqsood 85no) beat
Peshawar Zalmi 164-8 (Hafeez 56) by 19 runs
16th game, Pakistan Super League, Dubai

Sohaib Maqsood scored an unbeaten 85 run knock while Sohail Tanvir and Kieron Pollard picked three wickets apiece as Multan Sultans extended their lead at the top of the table with a 19-run win over Peshawar Zalmi in the 16th game of the Pakistan Super League in Dubai.

After Peshawar won the toss and decided to field first, Sangakkara (28) showed a lot of positivity when he plundered Hasan Ali (0-43) for two boundaries and a six and Multan Sultans reached 41 runs in the powerplay without losing a wicket.

Liam Dawson (1-17) provided the breakthrough when he castled Sangakkara and that came after he started the spell with a maiden over. At the halfway mark, Multan Sultans were 62 for one.

Maqsood (85 not out) looked positive from the outset and despite losing Ahmed Shehzad (37) at the other end, he continued his stroke making and completed a 28-ball fifty.

Multan completed dominated the end stage of the innings with Maqsood dealing in maximums and was joined by Pollard (16 not out) as they went on to post 183 for three in the 20 overs.

Andre Fletcher (11) started the chase positively but he and Kamran Akmal (9) fell inside four overs with a score of 25 for two. Dwayne Smith (18) could not find a free flow as the required run rate was climbing, and despite contributions from Mohammad Hafeez (56), Riki Wessels (22) and Dawson (32), Peshawar could manage only 164 for eight in the 20 overs.

Tanvir (3-14) was also impressive at the end overs as he conceded just two runs and picked a couple of wickets in the penultimate over to end Peshawar's hopes.

Live Cricket Streaming is available from our Live Cricket Streaming Partners for all the PSL 2018 matches in the UK and other countries. 

© Cricket World 2018