< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Mark Wood returns to England squad for Champions Trophy

Mark Wood has recovered from an ankle injury
Mark Wood has recovered from an ankle injury

Durham speedster Mark Wood has been named in the England squad for the upcoming One-Day International series against Ireland and South Africa followed by the Champions Trophy to be played in June and July.

The 27-year-old last played for England during the ODI series against Pakistan at home where he picked seven wickets from four matches before he was sidelined with an ankle injury.

Wood will join an extended pace attack that has David Willey, Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett and Ben Stokes and Jake Ball, who has managed to retain his place over Steven Finn.

The squad captained by Eoin Morgan will see Alex Hales, Jason Roy and Joe Root forming the top order with Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler and Moeen Ali providing more options in the middle order apart from Stokes.Ali will don the spin bowling responsibility along with Adil Rashid.

Apart from the squads for the Champions Trophy and series against South Africa, the selectors have also announced a 14-member squad for the two-match series against Ireland.

Buttler, Stokes and Woakes were excluded from the Ireland series to let them continue their stint in the Indian Premier League while Morgan, Billings and Roy will head back to England ahead of the series. Finn has managed to make it to the clash against William Porterfield's men along with Ben Duckett.

"We have made encouraging progress over the past 18 months in white ball cricket and the squads selected reflects consistency and gives options across all disciplines," National selector James Whitaker said in an England and Wales Cricket Board statement.

"It is pleasing that Mark Wood and David Willey have returned to full fitness.

"They add variety and quality to our bowling strengths and David's ability as an attacking batsman is also an important element for us."

England will take on Ireland on 5th and 7th May before locking horns with the Proteas on 24th, 27th and 29th May for a three-match series and will kick start their Champions Trophy campaign against Bangladesh on 1st June.

Champions Trophy Squad: Eoin Morgan, Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Squad for Ireland ODIs: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Ben Duckett, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, David Willey, Mark Wood

© Cricket World 2017