Marsa Forced Into Decider By Leyland

Alex Ross scored a fine 144 for Leyland CC as they won the first match
Alex Ross scored a fine 144 for Leyland CC as they won the first match
©Marsa CC

Marsa will play a decisive third match against touring side Leyland CC after both sides picked up a win apiece over the weekend.

On Saturday the visitors won the toss and elected to bat and two particular batsmen did. James Rounding, opening the innings made a half-century to get his team of to a great start.

His effort was out shone by Leyland’s overeas player (from Australia) who after being dropped before making any runs went on to pulverise the bowling making 144 runs from 71 balls which included nine fours and 14 sixes, a brilliant effor which helped Leyland hit 289 from their 40 overs.

For the Marsa team Tom Newell took three wickets, Nowell Khosla two, while Ramdeeph Singh, Ed Manning and Sarfraz Ali all took one each.

The home side tried desperately but unfortunately they were bowled out in the 31st over for 139 runs.

Tom Newell top scored with 45 and Nowell Khosla made 25. For Leyland, the wicket-takers were, Monty Cotton with four, Nathan McDowell with two, Stev Vardy, Jake Peake and Marc Thompson all with one to put Leyland 1-0 up in the series.

For the Sunday game both teams made changes before Marsa won the toss and batted first. The Marsa team batted well and totalled 210 from 40 overs.

Mike Caruana top scored with 76 which included six fours. Sean Byrne batted well for 56 which included two sixes and two fours.

Ronnie Sacco chipped in with twenty 24 four runs towards the end of the innings while N. Afsar was the main wicket-taker for the visitors, taking three, while Steve Vardy, Monty Cotton and N.Murray all took one.

The Leyland chase was to become a classic one, N.Afsar top scoring with 72 which included seven fours and two sixes, Dave Makinson made 26 and Jake Peake 38.

They needed 12 runs to win off the last over with two wickets in hand. The first ball went for two runs, the second ball for one, the third ball no was a dot, and the fourth ball went for four.

The fifth ball produced a wicket, and the last man now facing would need to hit a six for a win, a four for a draw, and anything less would see the game lost.

In a dramatic finale, he was caught at long-on and the Marsa team won the game and levelled the series.

Caruana took four wickets, Ronnie Sacco two, Amal Sebastion, Bikram Arora, Sid Anand and Luke Bradley all taking one.

The decider is on Tuesday 29th July.

Next Saturday the CRIC HQ MCA summer league continues with the Marauders taking on Krishna.

© Cricket World 2014

Nominate a Performance of the Week
Become a Profiled Club
Find a Fixture