< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Marsh Cup: New South Wales wins 12th Marsh One-Day Cup title

New South Wales has won its 12th Marsh One-Day Cup title and third in the past six seasons, defeating Western Australia by 102 runs in the 2020-21 Final at Bankstown Oval today.


Match Summary

New South Wales vs Western Australia, Final, The Marsh Cup

New South Wales 251/8 (50 ov)

Western Australia 149/10 (40.3 ov)

Result - NSW won by 102 runs




In a match featuring 12 players with international experience, it was 20-year-old Jack Edwards who stood tallest with a match-winning century for the Blues.

Edwards’ 108 from 122 balls, his second List A century and one which earned him Player of the Final honours, guided NSW out of early trouble and to a competitive 8-251.


The Blues had slumped to 3-50 after 12 overs before Edwards combined with Daniel Hughes (58) in a vital 118-run stand. Three late wickets to Jason Behrendorff restricted the Blues’ late overs surge. Setting up a tense run chase.

In reply, WA was on the back foot from the first over when Sam Whiteman fell LBW to Mitchell Starc for a first ball duck, before Sean Abbott also stepped in with two wickets in his first three overs.

D’Arcy Short (26), Josh Inglis (29) and Cameron Green (36) all attempted to steady the innings but wickets fell at regular intervals as Abbott (4-23) and Nathan Lyon (3-38) rolled through the middle and lower orders, bowling WA out for 149 in the 41st over.

The title was NSW’s 12th in Australian one-day domestic history. They now travel to Brisbane this week to take on Queensland in the five-day Marsh Sheffield Shield Final at Allan Border Field beginning April 15. The match will be shown live on Foxtel and Kayo.

Match Stats and Details

NSW Fall of wickets: 1-43 (Matthew Gilkes - 8.3 ov), 2-47 (Kurtis Patterson - 10.3 ov), 3-50 (Jason Sangha - 11.6 ov), 4-168 (Daniel Hughes - 37.4 ov), 5-213 (Oliver Davies - 45.3 ov), 6-244 (Sean Abbott - 48.3 ov), 7-246 (Jack Edwards - 49.1 ov), 8-248 (Ben Dwarshuis - 49.4 ov)


WA Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Sam Whiteman - 0.2 ov), 2-29 (Josh Philippe - 9.3 ov), 3-50 (Mitchell Marsh - 14.1 ov), 4-85 (D'Arcy Short - 21.5 ov), 5-111 (Josh Inglis - 30.2 ov), 6-119 (Ashton Turner - 32.1 ov), 7-141 (Ashton Agar - 37.2 ov), 8-145 (Cameron Green - 38.5 ov), 9-149 (Liam Guthrie - 39.6 ov), 10-149 (Lance Morris - 40.3 ov)


Playing XIs

New South Wales - Daniel Hughes, Matthew Gilkes(wk), Kurtis Patterson(c), Jason Sangha, Oliver Davies, Jack Edwards, Sean Abbott, Ben Dwarshuis, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

Western Australia - Josh Philippe, Sam Whiteman, D'Arcy Short, Mitchell Marsh(c), Josh Inglis(wk), Cameron Green, Ashton Turner, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Liam Guthrie, Lance Morris



Start Time: 00:30

Toss: New South Wales won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Bankstown Oval, Sydney

Officials: Gerard Abood, Shawn Craig, Phillip Gillespie, David Gilbert

©Cricket World 2021



Official Cricket Australia Website