< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Martin Guptill returns to New Zealand squad for South Africa series

Martin Guptill missed the final two games against Australia due to hamstring injury
Martin Guptill missed the final two games against Australia due to hamstring injury

New Zealand have received a major boost ahead of the upcoming home series against South Africa with Martin Guptill returning back to the squad from a hamstring injury.

The swashbuckling Auckland batsman missed the final two games of the Chappell-Hadlee series against Australia after scoring a match-winning 61 in the first game.

To accommodate Guptill in the ODI squad, the selectors have left out all-rounder Colin Munro, after he managed just five runs in the two games against Australia.

Apart from the return of Guptill, Luke Ronchi also makes a comeback from a groin injury and will take the place of back-up wicketkeeper Tom Blundell and Ish Sodhi has also managed to retain his place along with Dean Brownlie.

New Zealand chief selector Gavin Larsen justified the decision to drop Munro, who recently smashed a century in the Twenty20 International against Bangladesh.

"Colin hasn't quite shown the consistency he would like in the middle order and we feel Neesham is deserved of an opportunity with the bat at six," said Larsen.

"Having two frontline spinners in the side gives us flexibility and Ish is an aggressive bowler who in the right conditions can be a real threat for us."

Ross Taylor and Neil Broom, who are part of the ODI squad for the series against South Africa will also get to play the practice game against the visitors representing New Zealand XI along with Adam Milne, who makes a return to competitive cricket after almost a year.

Both teams lock horns in a full fledged series which involves a solitary T20I, five-match ODI series and three Tests between 17th February and 29th March while the practice game is scheduled on 14th February.

New Zealand T20I squad:

Kane Williamson (capt), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi (wk), Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ben Wheeler

New Zealand ODI squad:

Kane Williamson (capt), Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor

© Cricket World 2017