Match Preview: Delhi Daredevils v Royal Challengers Bangalore - IPL 2017

Will this be Chris Gayle's final game for Bangalore?
Will this be Chris Gayle's final game for Bangalore?

Match Details

May 14, 2017, 08:00pm local time (02:30pm GMT)

After a dismal outing in the 2017 edition of Indian Premier League, Royal Challengers Bangalore will hope to finish the season on a positive note when they take on Delhi Daredevils in their final group encounter at Feroz Shah Kotla on Sunday.

Hardly anything has been going right for Virat Kohli's men as they managed just three wins from 13 games and are certain to take the wooden spoon. The big guns Kohli, Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers have failed to deliver the goods while the services of Lokesh Rahul at the top was certainly missed. Even though their bowling has improved as compared to the previous season, their sloppiness on the field clearly indicates a team that lacks confidence.

AB de Villiers has returned for his national duty while it will be interesting to see whether they opt for a struggling Gayle or Watson or prefer giving more chances to the players in the bench. Without doubt Kohli will be hoping to end the season with a win.

On the other hand, Delhi Daredevils stunned Rising Pune Supergiant once again with their heroics at the same venue two days back and has had a mixed season with their poor form in the middle costing them a play off spot. Having remaining in contention for the play-off at one stage, their dismal batting performances against Kings XI Punjab and Mumbai Indians where they lost six wickets inside the powerplay dented their momentum.

Will Rahul Dravid and Zaheer Khan opt for three foreigners again will be interesting to see but a win here for Delhi will leave them with some consolation as they will end on 14 points. They have also won four out of their last five games.

Recent Form:


Likely XI's

Delhi Daredevils might retain the same combination unless the team management wants to give chance to few other players in the bench.

1. Sanju Samson, 2. Karun Nair, Shreyas Iyer, 4. Rishabh Pant (wk), 5. Marlon Samuels, 6. Corey Anderson, 7. Pat Cummins, 8. Shahbaz Nadeem, 9. Amit Mishra, 10. Mohammad Shami, 11. Zaheer Khan (captain)

Royal Challengers Bangalore are likely to give Gayle another chance in the place of de Villiers

1. Chris Gayle, 2, Mandeep Singh, 3. Virat Kohli (captain), 4. Travis Head, 5. Kedar Jadhav, 6. Shane Watson, 7. Pawan Negi, 8. Yuzvendra Chahal, 9. Sreenath Aravind, 10. Samuel Badree, 11. Aniket Choudhary

© Cricket World 2017


Player Profiles