Match Preview: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab - IPL 2017


Match details

08:00pm local time (02:30pm GMT), April 13, 2017

Dealt with a major blow in the form of injury to Chris Lynn, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) face a tough task against a rejuvenated and in form Kings XI Punjab (KXIP). The challenge for Punjab will be to carry on their winning streak away from home as both their wins have come at the Holkar stadium in Indore.

Lynn’s injury would mean that one of the most successful opening partnerships in the form of Gautam Gambhir and Robin Uthappa would be reunited at the top. However Glenn Maxwell and co. won't have to worry about the terrorising impact Lynn can have at the top. It also gives Kolkata a chance to accommodate Shakib al Hasan and increase their bowling strength. Umesh Yadav has also joined the squad and will only give the management more options.

After two disappointing seasons, Punjab have started off on a winning note and seem to be thriving under the carefree and aggressive leadership style of coach Virender Sehwag and captain Maxwell. Hashim Amla has already shown why he is such a good short format player without being too flashy. Maxwell’s own form and the bowling efforts of Axar Patel and Sandeep Sharma have given them plenty of positives.

Recent Form



Likely XI’s

Shakib should replace Lynn unless KKR opt for the big hitting and seam bowling abilities of Colin de Grandhomme. Umesh Yadav could come in to replace Ankit Rajpoot.

Kolkata Knight Riders - 1 Gautam Gambhir (c ), 2 Robin Uthappa (wk), 3 Manish Pandey, 4 Shakib al Hasan/ Colin de Grandhomme, 5 Yusuf Pathan, 6 Suryakumar Yadav, 7 Chris Woakes, 8 Kuldeep Yadav, 9 Sunil Narine, 10 Umesh Yadav, 11 Trent Boult

Punjab should go in with an unchanged XI even though Mohit Sharma has conceded 81 runs in the two games he has featured in. Ishant Sharma is in the reserves and could replace him.

Kings XI Punjab - 1 Manan Vohra, 2 Hashim Amla, 3 Axar Patel, 4 Glenn Maxwell (c ), 5 David Miller, 6 Marcus Stoinis, 7 Wriddhiman Saha, 8 Mohit Sharma, 9 Sandeep Sharma, 10 Varun Aaron,  11 T Natarajan


  • Glenn Maxwell became the second fastest to 1000 IPL career runs when he reached the milestone off 610 balls. The record for the fastest belongs to Virender Sehwag who reached the milestone in 604 balls
  • Robin Uthappa needs to take three more catches to get to 100 T20 career catches
  • In the last three seasons, Ishant Sharma has played 11 matches and has picked up seven wickets at an average of 58.28 and an economy rate of 10.2 runs per over