Match Preview: Sunrisers Hyderabad v Mumbai Indians - IPL 2017

Mumbai Indians will be hoping to continue the winning momentum
Mumbai Indians will be hoping to continue the winning momentum

Match details

May 08, 2017, 08:00pm local time (02:30pm GMT)

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) enter into desperate territory against the Mumbai Indians (MI) as they look to keep their hopes alive of a top four finish. With the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) having played one match less, SRH might still lose out on qualification if KXIP win all their remaining matches.

Two losses on the trot have affected the momentum for the Sunrisers at a time when teams would ideally like to peak. Ashish Nehra’s injury in the last game prevented him from bowling his full quota of overs and it remains to be seen if the injury prone fast bowler has any more comebacks left in him. Their failure to chase down a target of 149 in their last game would also be a sign of worry against a team that not only managed to pile up 212 in their last game but also skittle the opposition out for 66.

Lendl Simmons grabbed his first opportunity with the bat and on the field as he replaced Jos Buttler, who is set to leave for England duty. He found able support in his fellow West Indian, Kieron Pollard, who once again batted with maturity. Krunal Pandya’s absence will continue to be felt even though Karn Sharma had an impressive outing against Delhi.

Sunrisers will need their lower order to fire if they are to progress in the tournament or else they could suffer the same fate as that of the Royal Challengers Bangalore who have been over reliant on their top order.

Recent Form


Likely XI’s

Mohammed Siraj should replace the injured Nehra.

SRH – 1 David Warner (c), 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Kane Williamson, 4 Yuvraj Singh, 5 Naman Ojha (wk), 6 Bipul Sharma, 7 Moises Henriques, 8 Rashid Khan, 9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 10 Siddarth Kaul, 11 Mohammed Siraj

Mumbai should go in with an unchanged XI with Krunal still out due to injury.

MI– 1 Lendl Simmons, 2 Parthiv Patel (wk), 3 Nitish Rana, 4 Rohit Sharma (c), 5 Kieron Pollard, 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Karn Sharma, 8 Harbhajan Singh, 9 Mitchell McClenaghan, 10 Lasith Malinga, 11 Jasprit Bumrah


• Mumbai’s 146 run victory against Delhi, in the last game, is the biggest victory margin in terms of runs in the IPL
• David Warner is the only batsman to score 500 plus runs in four consecutive seasons in the IPL
• Bhuvneshwar Kumar has conceded seven sixes off 264 balls this tournament – three from the bat of MS Dhoni off 17 balls and four from rest of the batsmen off 247 balls
• The defeat in the last game against Pune was Hyderabad’s first home defeat of the season

© Cricket World 2017


Player Profiles