Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Match Schedule Announced for MCC tour of Pakistan

Match Schedule Announced for MCC tour of Pakistan
Match Schedule Announced for MCC tour of Pakistan
©REUTERS
 

The match schedule and itinerary for the upcoming Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) tour of Pakistan has been confirmed today.

The tour will take place between 13th and 19th February and MCC will play a 50-over match and three T20 games during the trip, with all the fixtures taking place in Lahore.

Lahore Qalandars will provide the Club’s first opposition in a floodlit T20 match at the Gaddafi Stadium. Lahore can boast Pakistan international stars such as Shaheen Afridi and Fakhar Zaman amongst their ranks for this year’s edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

Pakistan Shaheens - effectively the nation’s ‘A’ team – will play MCC in a 50-over match at Aitchison College two days later, and the hosts will be captained by Saud Shakeel.

The Club will then switch back to T20 for matches against Pakistan’s domestic T20 champions Northern, and Multan Sultans of the PSL, who will include England’s Moeen Ali and James Vince in their squad for the tournament which begins shortly after the MCC tour.

President of MCC Kumar Sangakkara will captain a twelve-man squad for the tour, which includes the likes of Ravi Bopara, Roelof van der Merwe and Ross Whiteley.

MCC Head Coach Ajmal Shahzad said: “This tour of Pakistan will be a momentous occasion for everyone involved.

“We expect the standard of cricket to be high during this trip. The MCC squad possesses both international and extensive domestic experience which I am sure will prove strong opposition for some of Pakistan’s best emerging cricketers, and three squads of talented T20 players.

“We hope that this tour helps contribute to the Pakistan Cricket Board’s wish of seeing international teams returning to tour the country on a regular basis.”

MCC Pakistan tour schedule:

Friday 14th February – Lahore Qalandars v MCC (T20 – Gaddafi Stadium, 5.00pm PKT/12.00noon GMT)

Sunday 16th February – Pakistan Shaheens v MCC (50 overs - Aitchison College, 9.30am PKT/4.30am GMT)

Monday 17th February – Northern v MCC (T20 - Aitchison College, 12.30pm PKT/7.30am GMT)

Wednesday 19th February – Multan Sultans v MCC (T20 - Aitchison College, 12.30pm PKT/7.30am GMT)