< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Maxwell, Cummins return to Australia ODI squad

Glenn Maxwell last played an ODI for Australia in June
Glenn Maxwell last played an ODI for Australia in June
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Australian selectors have recalled all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and fast bowler Patrick Cummins in the 14-man One-Day International squad for the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy series against New Zealand.

Maxwell, was overlooked from the 50-over format after dip in form and last appeared for Australia in an ODI in June 2016.

In the 12 ODIs, Maxwell has played this year, he has scored 228 runs at an average of 25.33 but his performances against New Zealand and South Africa is what that led to his exclusion as he scored just nine runs from five games.

However, his impactful knocks of unbeaten 145 and 66 in the Twenty20 International series against Sri Lanka and his recent performances for Victoria had convinced the selectors about his abilities.

Meanwhile, Cummins last played for Australia in September 2015 and missed most of the 2015/16 season with a stress fracture on his back. However, his performances in the Matador Cup in October for New South Wales has been outstanding.

The selectors have also included Zimbabwe-born Western Australia all-rounder Hilton Cartwright in the squad for the first time.

In the 27 List A games, Cartwright featured, he has scored 636 runs at an average of 26 and also picked 12 wickets.

Steven Smith will continue to lead the side which has David Warner, Aaron Finch, George Bailey, Travis Head and Maxwell to bolster the batting while Matthew Wade will don the wicket-keeping role.

Cartwright along with Mitchell Marsh and James Faulkner will be the all-rounders in the squad while the pace bowling with be lead by Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Cummins with Adam Zampa being the lone spinner in the squad.

The three-match ODI series between Australia and New Zealand will be played between 4th and 9th December.

Australia squad:

David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steven Smith (captain), George Bailey, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Hilton Cartwright, Matthew Wade (wk), James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa.

© Cricket World 2016