< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Maxwell, Lynn picked for Sri Lanka T20Is

Glenn Maxwell was earlier dropped for the ODI series
Glenn Maxwell was earlier dropped for the ODI series
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and batsman Chris Lynn have been named in the national Twenty20 International squad which will face Sri Lanka in the two-match series in the ongoing tour.

The 13-man squad will be led by David Warner, who was named as the stand-in skipper after Steven Smith was handed a rest by the selectors.

Maxwell was earlier dropped from the ODI squad due to lacklustre performances and he currently will have a chance to impress the selectors once again.

Australian national selector Rod Marsh said that both Maxwell and Lynn are match winners on their day and added that the duo’s fielding skills will also be an asset for the team.

“Both Chris and Glenn are dynamic players who are both capable of winning a game from their own bat and they also bring that x-factor in the field.”

Peter Nevill, who kept wickets for Australia in the 2016 World T20, retains his place in the squad while John Hastings, Mitchell Starc and Scott Boland make up the fast bowling attack.

Speaking about Nevill’s place in the T20I squad, Marsh said, “Peter is the incumbent wicket-keeper in the T20 side and had a very good World T20 for Australia, the panel wanted to keep that consistency heading into these two matches.”

Adam Zampa is the front-line spinner in the side while Moises Henriques and James Faulkner are the seam-bowling all-rounders.

Hastings and Boland are already with the ODI squad in Sri Lanka and the remaining members of the squad will arrive in Colombo on 1st September.

The two T20Is between Sri Lanka and Australia will be played on 6th and 9th September in Pallekele and Colombo respectively.

Australia T20I Squad:

David Warner (capt), Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxell, Moises Henriques, Peter Nevill (wkt), James Faulkner, John Hastings, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Scott Boland.

© Cricket World 2016