< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Maxwell Welcomes ICC Crackdown On Illegal Actions

Glenn Maxwell
Glenn Maxwell has welcomed the move by the ICC to clamp down on bowlers with illegal bowling actions.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell has welcomed the move by the International Cricket Council (ICC) to clamp down on bowlers with illegal bowling actions.

The ICC has come down heavily on bowlers with suspected illegal actions, leading to a ban of five international cricketers from bowling in any format of the game.

The list includes Saeed Ajmal, Sachithra Senanayake, Kane Williamson, Prosper Utseya and Sohag Gazi.

Bangladesh pacer Al-Amin Hossain, who was also reported for suspected bowling, is yet to undergo the biomechanical test.

Maxwell, while speaking to Pakpassion.net, expressed his satisfaction on the ICC's move to ban bowlers with suspected actions, however, he felt the crackdown should have taken place sooner.

"I'm actually quite happy that they've started doing it, I think it's actually started to happen a bit too late. It seems to have been going on for too long and it's something that's been talked about a lot in quite a few changing rooms and in the media as well." Maxwell said.

"Now we are going to see a lot more conventional offspinners doing the job in international cricket which I think is good for the game and it levels the playing field again and hopefully it stays that way," he added.

In the recently-concluded Champions League T20, five more bowlers - Mohammad Hafeez, Sunil Narine, Adnan Rasool, Suryakumar Yadav and Prenelan Subrayen - were reported for suspected bowling actions while Sohail Maqsood was among 10 players reported in a domestic tournament in Pakistan.

With the 2015 World Cup just a few months away, ex-cricketers Clive Lloyd and Waqar Younis have questioned the timing of the ICC on this crackdown on bowlers which will hamper the preparation of some of the teams competing.

© Cricket World 2014

Official Cricket Australia Website
Official Cricket Australia Website