MCC Begins Tour Of Cyprus

MCC at Lord's
The MCC are heading to Cyprus to play a series of 50 and 20-over matches
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has sent a 15-man squad to Cyprus for a 10-day tour in what is its penultimate tour of the year.

The MCC will play three 50-over matches as well as two Twenty20 games including a one-day game the Cyprus national team on 28th September.

Matthew Root - father of England international Joe - will captain a side that includes MCC playing members from across England.

It is MCC's first tour of Cyprus since 2007, when Mike Gatting starred in a four-run win over the national team.

"When MCC first toured Cyprus in 2007, the national side had only just made its first appearance in Division 4 of the ICC European Cricket Championships," MCC Head of Cricket John Stephenson said.

"Since then the Cyprus Cricket Association has done a wonderful job developing the game across the nation, and it is particularly encouraging to see the growth that is happening at a grassroots level. 

"There appears to be a real passion for cricket in Cyprus, and I hope that MCC’s visit will help to further increase the game’s appeal there and generate further interest in the sport."

Tour Schedule

Saturday 28th September: MCC v Cyprus National XI (50 overs)
Sunday 29th September: MCC v Joint Forces XI (50 overs)
Tuesday 1st October: MCC v Cyprus National XI (50 overs)
Thursday 3rd October: MCC v Joint Forces XI (20 overs)
Friday 4th October: MCC v British Forces Cyprus (format TBC)
Tour Party

Jolyon Griffiths – Manager – St. Margretsbury CC
Matthew Root – Captain – Sheffield Collegiate CC
Harvey Anderson – Bankfoot CC
Patrick Coughlin – Sawston CC
Andrew Hele – Barton CC
David Henderson – Portsmouth CC
Robert Jones – Guildford CC
Nishel Patel – Uxbridge CC
Tom Savill – Dulwich CC
Timothy Smith – Saffron Walden CC
Anthony Sparks – Northop CC
Ben Stephens – Colchester & East Essex CC
Alistair Wilkinson – Kenilworth Wardens CC
Andrew Woodward – Milford Hall CC
Barry Toombs – Umpire

© Cricket World 2013