< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

MCC Touring Party Heads For Malaysia, Singapore

Mark Chilton sweeps
Mark Chilton will captain the MCC side in Malaysia and Singapore
©REUTERS / Action Images

The MCC's first overseas tour of 2014 is set to begin with a fortnight-long trip to Malaysia and Singapore, led by former Lancashire captain Mark Chilton.

The 14-man squad, which heads out to Kuala Lumpur on Saturday, will be led by Chilton and tour manager Bob Baxter.

They play five matches starting with a 50-over game against a Malaysia Cricket Association as part of a five-team round-robin tournament.

After the final on Sunday 16th February, MCC will leave for Singapore to coach youngsters at the Kallang Cricket Ground, home of the Singapore Cricket Club.

They will end their tour with a 50-over match against the Singapore Cricket Club at Padang Cricket Club.

This will be the MCC's fifth visit to Malaysia and Singapore but Chilton's first involvement with the club.

"This is the first time I’ve been involved with an MCC touring party and it was a privilege to be asked to captain the side," Chilton said.

"I’m very much looking forward to getting out there now. It’s always great to see cricket gaining popularity in places where it’s not been traditionally played, and hopefully our tour to these two great countries can get some more locals interested in the game and the work of MCC."

MCC President Mike Gatting, who was present to give the party a pre-tour send-off on Saturday morning, added: "MCC tours are an extremely important part of the club’s work, and we’ve got a very talented group of cricketers heading out to the Far East.

"We have visited these countries on many occasions previously and I’m confident our presence there can continue to develop the game of cricket in Singapore and Malaysia."

MCC touring party: Bob Baxter (coach), Mark Chilton (captain), Eddie Ballard, Andrew Clarke, Edward Kilbee, George Harper, Harry Horsley, Gareth James, Luke Jarvis, James Kerr, Jonathan McLean, Jack Porter, Angus Stewart, Reinhardt Strydom, Michael Burns (umpire)

© Cricket World 2014