McCullum Joins Pakistan Trio In Signing For IPL

New Zealand wicket-keeper Brendon McCullum and Pakistan internationals Shoaib Malik, Younus Khan and Mohammad Asif are the latest players to commit themselves to playing in the Indian Premier League (IPL) Twenty20 competition. The lucrative event will start in April and now boasts a list of some 29 international players, including Mahela Jayawardene, Graeme Smith and Mohammad Yousuf. The tournament will last 44 days, involve eight franchises and there will be $3 million in prize money. The tournament was launched by the Indian board with support from other national boards as a counter to the unofficial, 'rebel', Indian Cricket League (ICL). Each franchise squad will contain 16 players.