McLaren, Parnell In South Africa Test Squad

Wayne Parnell, Graeme Smith
Wayne Parnell (right) has been included in South Africa's Test squad to play Australia
©REUTERS / Action Images

All-rounders Ryan McLaren and Wayne Parnell have been called up to South Africa's Test squad ahead of the three-match series against Australia.

The pair are drafted in to replace Jacques Kallis, who retired from Test cricket following the series against India late last year, and leg-spinner Imran Tahir.

The squad is otherwise unchanged from the one which beat India 1-0 in a two-match series which means that in-form batsman Quinton de Kock has been overlooked once again.

"We want to stay constant to the brand of cricket we have played over the last few years that has brought us such success," Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection convener Andrew Hudson said.

"I believe that this squad covers all possible options we may wish to exercise as well as the conditions we are likely to encounter.

"Two other players - Beuran Hendricks and Simon Harmer - will be joining the squad to assist with the preparation leading into the first Test match.

"They are both highly talented cricketers who will benefit from being introduced to the Proteas environment. They also possess individual skills that will assist the team with their preparation for the Australian attack we are likely to face."

McLaren and Parnell both made their Test debuts in the same game, against England in 2010. Parnell went on to play two Tests in India while McLaren has yet to add to his solitary Test cap.

The opening Test begins on 12th February at Centurion Park.

South Africa Test squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Thami Tsolekile

© Cricket World 2014

Fixtures & Results

12th-16th February: 1st Test, Centurion

AUS 397 & 290-4d. beat RSA 206 & 200 by 281 runs
20th-24th February: 2nd Test, Port Elizabeth

RSA 423 & 270-5 dec. beat 246 & 216 by 231 runs
1st-5th March: 3rd Test, Cape Town

AUS 494-7d & 303-5d beat RSA 287 & 265 by 245 runs
9th March: 1st T20I, Port Elizabeth

Match abandoned without a ball bowled - rain
12th March: 2nd T20I, Durban

AUS 81-5 beat RSA 80-1 by 5 wickets
14th March: 3rd T20I, Centurion

AUS 129-4 beat RSA 128-7 by 6 wickets