< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Meg Lanning century levels Rose Bowl series

Meg Lanning
Meg Lanning hit 114 in 113 balls for Australia
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australia Women 210-2 (Lanning 114no) beat
New Zealand Women 206-9 by eight wickets
Second One-Day International, Mount Maunganui

Meg Lanning struck an unbeaten century to guide Australia Women to an eight-wicket win over New Zealand Women in the second One-Day International in Mount Maunganui.

Lanning's 114 not out in 113 balls enabled Australia to chase down a target of 210 in 41 overs after New Zealand had posted 206 for nine batting first.

After New Zealand won the opening match by nine runs, the multi-format Rose Bowl series is tied at 1-1 and Australia's win restores their two-point lead at the top of the ICC Women's Championship standings.

New Zealand were put into bat by Australia, who soon made inroads as Megan Schutt dismissed Rachel Priest and Amy Satterthwaite in consecutive balls, neither player getting off the mark.

The hosts were in further trouble when Sara McGlashan fell for 11 before Suzie Bates (61) and Sophie Devine (67) helped them build a platform to post a competitive score.

They shared 73 for the fourth wicket but after their stand was broken, only Katey Martin (39) and Erin Bermingham (11) could reach double figures.

Jess Jonassen had plenty to do with that, as she returned five for 50, including the wickets of both Bates and Devine.

Like New Zealand, Australia also lost a couple of wickets early when Beth Mooney was caught for five and Nicole Bolton trapped in front by Bermingham for 25.

However, at 63 for two, Lanning came together with Ellyse Perry (64 not out) and turned the game decisively in her side's favour.

She struck 12 fours and three sixes during a superb innings, while Perry hit eight fours in her 85-ball knock to see Australia over the winning line.

Their partnership of 147 took 28.1 overs and with no way through for New Zealand, it set up an ODI series decider at the same venue on Wednesday 24th February.

© Cricket World 2016