< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Meg Lanning Speaks After 11 Run Win Against India

Australia has taken out the CommBank T20 INTL Tri-Series with a 11-run victory against India at Junction Oval.

After posting 6-155 batting first, Australia put on a solid bowling performance that was capped of with a five-wicket haul to spinner Jess Jonassen (5-12).

Fast-bowler Tayla Vlaeminck was again effective against the visitors, claiming 2-32 including the key wickets of Shafali Verma (10) and Jemimah Rodrigues (2).

Smriti Mandhana threw everything she had at Australia, her 37-ball 66 giving India a strong chance of claiming victory before Megan Schutt (1-28) got the breakthrough.

Jonassen then finished off the tail as Australia bowled India out for 144.

Opener Beth Mooney (71*) was the star in Australia's batting innings, her unbeaten half-century crucial in posting a defendable total.

Ashleigh Gardner (26) and Meg Lanning (26) combined well with Mooney in the middle overs while a quick-fire 18 off seven balls from Rachael Haynes help boost Australia's total.

Australia will travel to Brisbane tomorrow in preparation for it's first ICC Women's T20 World Cup warm-up match against the West Indies on Saturday at Allan Border Field.

Australia CommBank T20 Tri-Series and ICC Women’s T20 World Cup squad
Meg Lanning – captain (Victoria)
Rachael Haynes – vice-captain (New South Wales)
Erin Burns (New South Wales)
Nicola Carey (Tasmania)
Ashleigh Gardner (New South Wales)
Alyssa Healy (New South Wales)
Jess Jonassen (Queensland)
Delissa Kimmince (Queensland)
Sophie Molineux (Victoria)
Beth Mooney (Queensland)
Ellyse Perry (Victoria)
Megan Schutt (South Australia)
Annabel Sutherland (Victoria)
Tayla Vlaeminck (Victoria)
Georgia Wareham (Victoria)

CommBank T20 INTL Tri-Series
February 1 – vs England, Manuka Oval (2pm AEDT) - ENG won in a Super Over
February 2 – vs India, Manuka Oval (2pm AEDT) - AUS won by four wickets
February 8 – vs India, Junction Oval (12:10pm AEDT) - IND won by seven wickets
February 9 – vs England, Junction Oval (2.10pm AEDT) - AUS won by 16 runs

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Warm-Up
February 15 – vs West Indies, Allan Border Field (3pm AEDT)
February 18 – vs South Africa, Karen Rolton Oval (11am AEDT)

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup
February 21 – vs India, Sydney Showground (7pm AEDT)
February 24 – vs Sri Lanka, WACA Ground (6pm AEDT)
February 27 – vs Bangladesh, Manuka Oval (7pm AEDT)
March 2 – vs New Zealand, Junction Oval (3pm AEDT)
March 5 – Semi-Final 1, SCG (3pm AEDT)
March 5 – Semi-Final 2, SCG (7pm AEDT)
March 8 – Final, MCG (6pm AEDT)

Official Cricket Australia Website