Melbourne Renegades move to top with seven-wicket win over Brisbane

Cameron White scored 51 runs
Cameron White scored 51 runs

Melbourne Renegades 137-3 (Cooper 52no) beat
Brisbane Heat 132-8 (Ross 48) by seven wickets
6th game, Big Bash League, Docklands Stadium

Jack Wildermuth impressed with a three-wicket as Melbourne Renegades restricted Brisbane Heat to 132 for eight and later chased down the score in the 19th over with seven wickets in hand in the sixth game of Big Bash League at Docklands Stadium,

Melbourne Renegades won the toss and opted to bowl first. Opening the bowling with two off-spinners paid dividends for Brisbane Heat as Tom Cooper (1-6) castled Brendon McCullum (5) in the only over he bowled.

The momentum Brisbane Heat wanted in the powerplay never came as Jack Wildermuth (3-16) struck twice in two overs to dismiss Sam Heazlett (11) and Jimmy Peirson (12) and were reduced to 29 for three.

Marnus Labuschagne (20) and Alex Ross (48) tried to resurrect the innings with a 39-run stand for the fourth wicket but once again Wildermuth returned to dismiss the former.

From there on Brisbane Heat hardly recovered but a responsible knock from Ross ensured they posted a total of 132 for eight in the 20 overs. Wildermuth was the pick of the Melbourne bowlers with a three wicket haul while Brad Hogg (2-25) and Dwayne Bravo (2-27) shared two wickets apiece.

Shadab Khan (2-17) kept Brisbane in the game with the wickets of Aaron Finch (8) and arcus Harris (9) in his first two overs to leave Renegades reeling at 29 for two but Cameron White (51) and Tom Cooper (52 not out) with their 89 run stand for the third wicket put them in course of a win.

White reached his second successive fifty with a six but fell soon after that. However, Cooper with two sixes in the penultimate over ensured the Renegades completed the chase with seven wickets in hand and in the process also completed his own half-century.

Wildermuth was awarded the player of the match for his three wicket haul as the Renegades claim the top position in the table.

© Cricket World 2017