< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Melbourne Stars beat Sydney Thunder by 3 wickets in BBL

Glenn Maxwell shows the way to the top of the BBL for Melbourne Stars

Melbourne Stars beat Sydney Thunder by 3 wickets in BBL at the Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney earlier today.


Match Summary

Sydney Thunder 142 – 7 – (20 Ovs) – (Matthew Gilkes 28, Alex Ross 40; Haris Rauf 3-24, Glenn Maxwell 2-17)

Melbourne Stars 143 – 7 – (19.4 Ovs) – (Marcus Stoinis 58, Nick Larkin 65; Daniel Sams 3-25, Nathan McAndrew 2-22, Chris Morris 2-24)

Result - Melbourne Stars won by 3 wickets

Sydney Thunder won the toss and decided to bat against Melbourne Stars scoring an unimpressive 142 – 7 in their 20 Overs, with Matthew Gilkes 28 and Alex Ross 40 top scoring - Haris Rauf 3-24 and Glenn Maxwell 2-17 were the stars with the ball removing the Sydney Thunder top order - Usman Khawaja, Alex Hales and Callum Ferguson with the score 39-3. They battled through to 142 – 7 but it was never going to be enough against the Melbourne Stars batting line up.

Melbourne Stars scored 143-7 in the run chase, winning by 3 wickets with 2 balls to spare. Marcus Stoinis 58 and Nick Larkin 65 top scored and despite some great individual bowling performances from  Daniel Sams 3-25, Nathan McAndrew 2-22 and Chris Morris 2-24, the Thunder were unable to prevent the successful run chase.

Melbourne Stars take the points and go top of the BBL.




Sydney Thunder - Usman Khawaja, Alex Hales, Callum Ferguson(c), Matthew Gilkes(wk), Alex Ross, Chris Morris, Daniel Sams, Chris Green, Brendan Doggett, Arjun Nair, Nathan McAndrew

Melbourne Stars - Marcus Stoinis, Peter Handscomb(wk), Nick Larkin, Glenn Maxwell(c), Ben Dunk, Nic Maddinson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Clint Hinchliffe, Adam Zampa, Dale Steyn, Haris Rauf



Match Details

Start Time: 04:40

Toss: Sydney Thunder won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney

Officials: Michael Graham-Smith, Nathan Johnstone, Paul Wilson, Berend du Plessis du Plessis, Stephen Bernard

©Cricket World 2020