< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Melbourne Stars storm into BBL Final with 6 wicket win over Hobart Hurricanes

Glenn Maxwell 43* for the Melbourne Stars in BBL semi-final

Melbourne Stars won the toss and decided to field against Hobart Hurricanes at the Blundstone Arena, Hobart in the first semi-final of the BBL today.

Match Summary

Hobart Hurricanes  153-7 (D'Arcy Short 35, Ben McDermott 53, George Bailey 37; Daniel Worrall 4-23)

Melbourne Stars 157-4 (Peter Handscomb 35, Glenn  Maxwell 43*, Seb Gotch 33*; Qais Ahmad 3-33)

Result - Melbourne Stars won by 6 wickets


Tournament Stats and Points Table

Melbourne Stars stormed into the BBL Final with 6 wicket win over Hobart Hurricanes today thanks to a great all round performance by the Melbourne side.

Batting first, Hobart Hurricanes  scored a blow par 153-7 - D'Arcy Short 35, Ben McDermott 53, and George Bailey 37 the mainstays of their batting and Daniel Worrall 4-23, the pick of the Melbourne Stars bowlers.

In reply, Melbourne Stars cruised to victory and the BBL Final with Peter Handscomb 35, Glenn  Maxwell 43* and  Seb Gotch 33* seeing them home by 6 wickets and with more than over to spare.


Hobart Hurricanes - Matthew Wade(c)(wk), D'Arcy Short, Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott, George Bailey, Simon Milenko, James Faulkner, Jofra Archer, Clive Rose, Qais Ahmad, Riley Meredith

Melbourne Stars - Marcus Stoinis, Ben Dunk, Peter Handscomb(wk), Glenn Maxwell(c), Nic Maddinson, Dwayne Bravo, Seb Gotch, Evan Gulbis, Adam Zampa, Daniel Worrall, Sandeep Lamichhane

©Cricket World 2019