< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Men's World Cup Winners Lead Cricket's New Year Honours

Eoin Morgan celebrates winning the world cup
Eoin Morgan celebrates winning the world cup
©Action Images via Reuters/Peter Cziborra

Four of England's team that lifted the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup at Lord's on July 14 have been recognised in the New Year Honours list.

Following a momentous year for the game, captain Eoin Morgan (CBE), Ben Stokes (OBE), Joe Root (MBE) and Jos Buttler (MBE) are among the ten names to have been honoured for services to cricket.

Their victorious coach on that day, Trevor Bayliss (OBE), and ECB Chairman Colin Graves (CBE) have also been honoured.

Bayliss was England’s Head Coach from 2015 to 2019 and played an instrumental role in revitalising his team’s white-ball fortunes.

Graves, who was Executive Chairman at Yorkshire CCC before joining ECB in 2015, has made a significant contribution across all areas of the game - through grassroots to board room.

Former England wicketkeeper Alan Knott has also received an MBE, while West Indian great Clive Lloyd - who lifted the trophy at the first-ever men's World Cup in 1975 - has been awarded a knighthood,

Lloyd's former West Indian teammate Gordon Greenidge has received the order of St Michael and St George Knight Commander, and Keith Cook - Operations Manager at Warwickshire CCC and an Edgbaston employee for 46 years - has been awarded the British Empire Medal.

ECB chief executive officer Tom Harrison:

"We're delighted that so many of the players involved in our historic ICC Men's Cricket World Cup win have been named in the New Year Honours list.

"Everyone who works in the game is incredibly proud of Eoin, Ben, Joe and Jos.

“We're proud of their achievements, on and off the pitch, and indeed of their efforts to help grow the game and inspire a whole new generation of fans.

"The events of that day will live long in the memories of everyone who saw it, and honours like this demonstrate the reach and impact that cricket can have.

"There's a nice symmetry to Clive Lloyd being honoured - he lifted the trophy twice at Lord's - while Alan Knott should rightly be remembered as one of our finest wicketkeepers.

"I'm very pleased, as well, that Trevor Bayliss and Colin Graves have also been recognised.

“Special days like the one at Lord's involve a lot of work that goes unseen but they have each made a big contribution to the continuing growth of the sport that we all love.

”Beyond that day at Lord’s, Colin has had a big impact on the game - both in his time as ECB Chairman and prior to joining ECB at Yorkshire CCC. He has demonstrated his passion for and commitment to the game, from his work at a grassroots level with Dunnington CC all the way up to the England teams and we’re incredibly grateful for all the work he has done.

"Each of these honours is incredibly well deserved and I'd like to share our heartfelt congratulations with everyone honoured for services to cricket."

England white-ball captain Eoin Morgan CBE:

"I’m very proud to have been awarded a CBE. Winning the World Cup has been a dream come true and the honours and awards that have come since that day at Lord’s really mean a lot to everyone connected with the team.

“The events of that day at Lord’s were the result of many years of hard work and dedication, and I see this honour - and the honours for my teammates - as honours for the whole team, for everything they put into winning that tournament and getting over the line.”