Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Michael Clarke Ruled Out Of Australia-England Clash

Michael Clarke batting for Australia in an ODI
Michael Clarke Ruled Out Of Australia-England Clash
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australia captain Michael Clarke has been ruled out of his side's opening ICC Champions Trophy 2013 match against England tomorrow (8th June) due to his back injury.

He was forced to sit out the warm-up defeat to India while he underwent specialist assessment in London, where he will remain as George Bailey leads the side out at Edgbaston.

Clarke has struggled with back problems throughout his international career, recently spending three months on the sidelines with a combination of back and hamstring problems.

"Michael is making steady progress in his recovery from the recent lower back injury but is yet to return to training," Cricket Australia (CA) physiotherapist Alex Kountouris said.

"He will remain in London over the coming days to continue his rehabilitation and will not be available for the first match against England on Saturday. How he responds to the ongoing treatment will determine his availability for the match against New Zealand next Wednesday."

Following the New Zealand match, Australia complete their group stage matches against Sri Lanka on 17th June.

Clarke, who last played an ODI in February, has played a total of 227 ODIs for his country and scored 7,375 runs at an average of 44.69 with four centuries and 54 half-centuries.

Australia are the reigning champions, having won the Champions Trophy in both 2006 and 2009.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


CT 2013 Fixtures

Fixtures & Results

6th June: India v South Africa, Cardiff

IND 331-7 beat RSA 305 by 26 runs: Report
7th June: Pakistan v West Indies, London

WIN 172-8 beat PAK 170 by 2 wickets: Report
8th June: England v Australia, Birmingham

ENG 269-6 beat AUS 221-9 by 48 runs: Report
9th June: New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff

NZL 139-9 beat SRI 138 by 1 wicket: Report
10th June: Pakistan v South Africa, Birmingham

RSA 234-9 beat PAK 167 by 67 runs: Report
11th June: India v West Indies, London

IND 236-2 beat WIN 233-9 by 8 wickets: Report
12th June: Australia v New Zealand, Birmingham

AUS 243-8 v NZL 51-2 - match abandoned: Report
13th June: England v Sri Lanka, The Oval

SRI 297-3 beat ENG 293-7 by 7 wickets: Report
15th June: India v Pakistan, Birmingham

IND 102-2 beat PAK 165 by 8 wickets: Report
16th June: England v New Zealand, Cardiff

ENG 169 beat NZL 159-8 by 10 runs: Report
17th June: Australia v Sri Lanka, London

SRI 253-8 beat AUS 233 by 20 runs: Report
19th June: Semi-Final, London

ENG 179-3 beat RSA 175 by 7 wickets: Report
20th June: Semi-Final, Cardiff

IND 182-2 beat SRI 181-8 by 8 wickets: Report
23rd June: Final, Birmingham

IND 129-7 beat ENG 124-8 by 5 runs: Report

Champions Trophy History

Previous Winners

1998: South Africa

2000: New Zealand

2002: India/Sri Lanka

2004: West Indies

2006: Australia

2009: Australia