< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Mike Gatting replaces Mike Brearley as new MCC Chairman

Mike Gatting will chair the first meeting of the new committee in January next year in Sydney
Mike Gatting will chair the first meeting of the new committee in January next year in Sydney

Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has confirmed former England skipper Mike Gatting as the new chairman of the committee with immediate effect.

Gatting, who was previously a member of the committee from 2006-2012 will take over from another ex-England captain Mike Brearley.

There have also been four other additions to the committee with Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, New Zealand Women's team captain Suzie Bates and former Sri Lankan off-spinner and a current official of International Cricket Council Kumar Dharmasena and former West Indies pacer Ian Bishop making to the elite list.

"Ian played with some of the biggest names that the West Indies have ever had in the game and having toured the globe as a commentator since retirement, he will be able to offer a view of the game as both a player and through the eyes of the media," said Gatting.

"Kumar's experience as both an umpire and a player will be invaluable and as a member of the Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, will have first-hand experience of some of the global issues that are discussed in a committee.

"Shakib is the first Bangladeshi player to have joined the committee and has great experience of the world game across all formats, both domestically and internationally, and we look forward to his contributions along with the rest of the new additions."

Former England Women's team captain Charlotte Edwards and ex-Windies captain Jimmy Adams along with Brearley resigned from their post after a tenure of five years.

The next meeting of the MCC World Cricket Committee has been scheduled in Sydney in January next year.

MCC World Cricket Committee: Mike Gatting (chairman), Vince van der Bijl, Brendon McCullum, Ian Bishop, Ramiz Raja, John Stephenson, Kumar Sangakkara, Kumar Dharmasena, Sourav Ganguly, Rod Marsh, Ricky Ponting, Suzie Bates, Tim May, Shakib Al Hasan.

© Cricket World 2017