< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Miller slams fastest T20I century as Bangladesh end tough season with another defeat

David Miller looked at his attacking best against Bangladesh
David Miller looked at his attacking best against Bangladesh

South Africa 224-4 (Miller 101no) beat
Bangladesh 141 (Sarkar 44) by 83 runs
Second Twenty20 International in Potchefstroom

David Miller went on to slam the fastest fifty in T20Is as South Africa trounced Bangladesh by 83 runs in the final game of the season in Potchefstroom to take the series 2-0.

Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bowl first - a decision that proved right when Shakib Al Hasan (2-22) castled both Mangaliso Mosehle (5) and Jean-Paul Duminy (4) in successive overs.

Hashim Amla (85) continued his rich vein of form as he ensured the Proteas ended the powerplay at 45 for two despite losing early wickets. AB de Villiers (20) looked good as he plundered a six and a four in the eigth over but fell soon after, dismissed by Mohammad Saifuddin (2-53).

As Miller (101 not out) was handed a reprieve by Mushfiqur Rahim when he was on naught, Amla went on to complete his eighth fifty in T20Is. The duo brought their 50 run stand off just 30 deliveries as things started to look ominous for Bangladesh.

In the 16th over, Miller slammed two sixes and a four but Amla fell at the other end, 15 runs short of what could have been a fabulous century.

Miller looked at his best as he plundered Saifuddin for five consecutive sixes in the penultimate over and with 12 more runs off the first four deliveries off the final over, he brought a 35-ball ton - the fastest in T20Is as South Africa posted 224 for four in the 20 overs.

Chasing over 11 an over from the start, Bangladesh never looked in the game with only Soumya Sarkar (44) showing some resilience as they were bowled out for 141 in 18.3 overs. The result also meant South Africa completed the T20I series with 2-0 win to go with their series wins in Tests and ODIs as well.

Miller undoubtedly bagged both the player of the match and the player of the series awards.

© Cricket World 2017