Mills To Lead New Zealand In Sri Lanka

Kyle Mills
Kyle Mills will captain New Zealand when they take on Sri Lanka later this month
©REUTERS / Action Images

With Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum and now Kane Williamson unavailable, Kyle Mills will captain New Zealand when they tour Sri Lanka later this month.

Neil Broom, Andrew Ellis and Rob Nicol have also been recalled to the squad which will play three One-Day Internationals and two Twenty20 Internationals between 10th and 21st November.

Mills has played 153 ODIs for the Black Caps and the opening game of the tour will be his first experience of international captaincy.

While McCullum and Taylor are being rested ahead of the Test series against the West Indies, Williamson fractured his thumb during the first ODI against Bangladesh.

Nicol comes in as a replacement for Williamson and Ellis is included as Ian Butler is unavailable due to a back injury.

Neil Broom will be available to New Zealand for the final ODI and Twenty20 International in Bangladesh as additional cover for Williamson while Tim Southee will be rested from the Sri Lanka series to concentrate on returning to full fitness after ankle surgery for the West Indies Tests.

New Zealand squad: Kyle Mills (captain), Corey Anderson, Neil Broom, Anton Devcich, Grant Elliott, Andrew Ellis, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Rob Nicol, Luke Ronchi, Hamish Rutherford

© Cricket World 2013