Mitchell Santner the hero as New Zealand turn the screws on England in 1st Test

New Zealand v England - First Test - Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui, New Zealand - November 24, 2019 New Zealand's Mitchell Santner and BJ Watling celebrate the wicket of England's Rory Burns

A wonderful all round performance by Mitchell Santner puts New Zealand in a commanding position against  England in 1st Test.

Match Summary

England - 353  – (Rory Burns 52, Joe Denly 74, Ben Stokes 91, Jos Buttler 43; Tim Southee 4-88, Neil Wagner 3-90, Colin de Grandhomme 2-41) and 55-3 (Mitchell Santner 3-6)

New Zealand – 615-9  – (Kane Williamson 51, BJ Watling 205,  Colin de Grandhomme 65, Mitchell Santner 126; Sam Curran 3-119, Ben Stokes 2-74)

At the Close of Play on Day 4 - England trail New Zealand by 207 runs with 7 wickets remaining


Earlier in the day, BJ Watling completed a double hundred (205) and Mitchell Santner (126) scored his debut Test century as New Zealand piled on the runs in a record partnership of 261 for the seventh wicket. New Zealand declared just after tea on 615-9 - theirhighest score against England in Tests - leading by 262, in what was a brilliant batting performance by the home team.

Mitchell Santner then went on to take three wickets for just six runs for New Zealand, removing England openers Dom Sibley and Rory Burns before dismissing nightwatchman Jack Leach with the last ball of the day – an astonishing performance from the all rounder.

At the Close of Play on Day 4, England trailed New Zealand by 207 runs with 7 wickets remaining and will have to bat well on 5th and final day to save this Test.



Match Details

New Zealand - Tom Latham, Jeet Raval, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, BJ Watling(wk), Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult


England - Rory Burns, Dominic Sibley, Joe Denly, Joe Root(c), Ben Stokes, Ollie Pope, Jos Buttler(wk), Sam Curran, Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, Jack Leach



Start Time: 22:00


Toss: England won the toss and decided to bat


Venue: Bay Oval, Tauranga


Officials: Handunnettige Dharmasena, Bruce Oxenford, Paul Wilson, Christopher Brown, Javagal Srinath




©Cricket World 2019