< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Morgan To Lead Lions Against Australia

Eoin Morgan will lead the England Lions as they take on the Australians
©REUTERS / Action Images

Batsman Eoin Morgan will captain the England Lions team which has been selected to take on Australia in a two-day tour game beginning on Friday (16th August) in Northampton.

The touring Australians were scheduled to be playing Northamptonshire between the second and third Ashes Tests but Northamptonshire's qualification for the Friends Life t20 Finals Day has forced a late change in opposition.

Accordingly, Northamptonshire players, along with those from Essex, Hampshire and Surrey are unavailable due to their participation at Edgbaston.

Three Lions debutants have been named in a side that will be coached by Ashley Giles. Warwickshire fast bowler Keith Barker, Yorkshire batsman Alex Lees and Sussex batsman Luke Wells are included and are set to get their first experience of Lions cricket.

"Northamptonshire’s progression to the t20 Finals Day has presented us with a great opportunity to field a strong Lions team to face the Australians at Wantage Road," England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) National Selector Geoff Miller said.

"We have looked to reward the players from the County circuit who have performed well this season and will look to push for places in future England squads with this fixture.

"With the Friends Life t20 Finals day running over the weekend of this fixture, we have been unable to select from any of the sides involved in that competition for obvious reasons, plus there are a number of other domestic fixtures that run very closely to this Lions game, so for practical reasons we had to recognise that a number of Counties’ players were unavailable.  

"As is always the case with these fixtures, they are an excellent marker for judging the level of these players at a very high international standard and we look forward to seeing the team perform strongly against the Australian opposition."

England Lions: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Gary Ballance, Keith Barker, Jos Buttler, James Harris, Simon Kerrigan, Alex Lees, Liam Plunkett, Ben Stokes, Luke Wells

© Cricket World 2013