< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

MSL 2018 - Cape Town Blitz make it 2 in 2 as they beat Durban Heat by 3 wickets

Anrich Nortje 4-32 for Cape Town Blitz

Cape Town Blitz won the toss and decided to bowl against Durban Heat at Kingsmead, Durban this morning in the 3rd Match of the Mzansi Super League (MSL) 2018.

Match Summary

Durban Heat 157-5 (Albie Morkel 45, Khaya Zondo 49*; Anrich Nortje 4-32)

Cape Town Blitz 158-7 (Asif Ali 83; Keshav Maharaj 3-24)

Result – Cape Town Blitz won by 3 wickets

An explosive spell of bowling from Anrich Nortje (4-17 in his first spell of 3 overs) blew away the Durban Heat top order after a positive start from Hashim Amla 15 and Morne van Wyk 26 ,putting on 40, in the first 5 overs. It was always going to be tough going from then on; but for Albie Morkel 45 and Khaya Zondo 49*, Durban Heat would have scored a lot less. They eventually totalled 157-5, with Zondo and Vernon Philander giving it some tap at the end. Cape Town Blitz will feel that they should have done better having had Durban Heat 48-4 at one stage.

In reply, Cape Town Blitz started well with the Malans opening and keeping up with the run rate. However, Durban Heat turned up the heat on the Cape Town batsmen and at 83-5 it seemed all over for them. However, Asif Ali hit a wonderful 83 off 33 balls to bring them back into the match and win by 3 wickets with 5 balls to spare.

Durban Heat - Hashim Amla, Morne van Wyk(wk), Temba Bavuma, Khaya Zondo, Albie Morkel(c), Sarel Erwee, Prenelan Subrayen, Vernon Philander, Kyle Abbott, Marchant de Lange, Keshav Maharaj

Cape Town Blitz - Dawid Malan(c), Janneman Malan, Kyle Verreynne(wk), Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Sibonelo Makhanya, George Linde, Ferisco Adams, Dale Steyn, Anrich Nortje, Malusi Siboto

©Cricket World 2018