< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

MSL: Tshwane Spartans v Durban Heat abandoned due to rain in Centurion

Tshwane Spartans v Durban Heat abandoned due to rain

Rain again had the final say as the second Mzansi Super League (MSL) meeting between the Tshwane Spartans and Durban Heat was abandoned due to inclement weather in Centurion on Thursday.

Match Summary

Tshwane Spartans 141 – 4 (Dean Elgar 57*, Theunis de Bruyn 40)

Durban Heat 21 – 3 (Lungi Ngidi 2-2)

Result - No Result (D/L)

The hosts, once again led by an inspired Dean Elgar, had managed to post 141 for four in their interrupted innings that lasted 15 overs.

However, after rain and lightning delayed the changeover, the target was revised to 66 from five overs, with the visitors managing 21 for three in 2.1 overs when the heavens again opened – leaving the umpires little choice but to abandon the clash at SuperSport Park.

It was the third no result for the two teams, with the Spartans moving to 10 points from four games in third position.

The Heat, meanwhile, progressed to six points, all of which have come from their washouts, with their only completed game ending in defeat.

However, they may well have been relieved with the outcome of match four too after they slipped into early trouble chasing the revised target at SuperSport Park.

Lungi Ngidi (2/2) struck with the first two balls of the innings by removing MSL debutant Wesley Marshall and Wihan Lubbe, both for ducks, before Dane Vilas plundered 14 off six balls to raise their hopes.

But he fell to Morne Morkel (1/0) just as the rain began to pour and still 45 needed off 17 balls leaving the officials with little choice.

Earlier, it was Elgar who picked up where he left off in the previous game where he scored a match-winning 88, that led the charge for the Tshwane side.

The Standard Bank Proteas Test star struck 57 off 37 balls (7 fours) and shared in an opening partnership of 81 in under eight overs with Theunis de Bruyn (40) as the home side flew out of the blocks.

Andile Phehlukwayo (1/32) then had the latter run out and also claimed the prize wicket of AB de Villiers (2) to open the window for his side, but the former and his captain Heinrich Klaasen (23) kept on going.

That was until the wet weather returned, accounted for two more wickets and ate into the time prompting an early end to the innings – and ultimately the game.


Tshwane Spartans - Theunis de Bruyn, Dean Elgar, Tom Curran, AB de Villiers, Heinrich Klaasen(c)(wk), Pite van Biljon, Wiaan Mulder, Roelof van der Merwe, Morne Morkel, Lutho Sipamla, Lungi Ngidi

Durban Heat - Alex Hales, Wesley Marshall, Wihan Lubbe, Dane Vilas(c)(wk), David Miller, Ravi Bopara, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Marco Jansen, Kyle Abbott, Malusi Siboto

Start Time: 15:30

Toss: Durban Heat won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Supersport Park, Centurion

Officials: Abdoellah Steenkamp, Stephen Harris, Siphelele Gasa, Jurie Sadler, Zama Ndamane

©Cricket World 2019