< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Multan off to winning start in PSL 2018

Kumar Sangakkara scored a half-century in the chase
Kumar Sangakkara scored a half-century in the chase

Multan Sultans 152-3 (Sangakkara 57) beat
Peshawar Zalmi 151-6 (Hafeez 59) by seven wickets
1st match, Pakistan Super League, Dubai

Multan Sultans made a dream debut in the Pakistan Super League as they went on to beat the defending champions Peshawar Zalmi by seven wickets in the opening game of the tournament in Dubai.

Chasing a total of 152, the Sultans lost Ahmed Shehzad (0) in the second over from Wahab Riaz (2-19) while Kumar Sangakkara (57) was struggling to get going with less than a 100 strike-rate in the powerplay phase.

Sohaib Maqsood (21) provided the much needed momentum hitting Hammad Azam (0-33) for a six and a couple of boundaries in the sixth over to take the score to 43 for one but despite the burst, the Sultans maintained a run rate of under seven by the end of the eighth over.

The pressure eventually got the better of Maqsood as he holed out to long-on off Mohammad Asghar (1-18) and at halfway mark, the Sultans needed another 84 runs.

Sangakkara went on to complete his half-century off 46 deliveries but the real impetus came after that as Shoaib Malik (42 not out) and Kieron Pollard (21 not out) smashed unbeaten 46 run stand off 26 deliveries to see Sultans through the chase in 19.1 overs with seven wickets in hand.

Earlier, sent into bat first, Peshawar Zalmi got off to a rough start with openers Tamim Iqbal (11) and Kamran Akmal (0) dismissed by Mohammad Irfan (2-19).

Dwayne Smith (24) and Mohammad Hafeez (59) consolidated a bit but the innings never had any momentum as they were going at just over six per over until skipper Darren Sammy (29) played a late 11-ball cameo to lift the score to 151.

Sangakkara was named the man of the match for setting up the victory with a half-century.

What next?

The Sultans will face Lahore Qalandars on Friday while Peshawar Zalmi will take on the winners of the first season Islamabad United on Saturday.

© Cricket World 2018