< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Multan Sultans win HBL PSL 6 after Sohaib and Rossouw blitz

Sohaib Maqsood celebrated his national call-up with his fifth half-century of the tournament, while Rilee Rossouw saved his very best for the grand finale as Multan Sultans defeated Peshawar Zalmi by 47 runs to win the HBL Pakistan Super League 6 under Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium floodlights on Thursday evening.

Match Summary

Multan Sultans 206/4 (20 ov)

Peshawar Zalmi 159/9 (20 ov)

Multan Sultans won by 47 runs.


Sohaib, was given a lifeline when he was dropped by Hazratullah Zazai on six in the 11th over, slapped six fours and three sixes in an electrifying 35-ball 65 not out, while Rossouw clobbered five fours and three sixes in a swashbuckling 21-ball 50 – his first half-century of the tournament – to steer Multan Sultans to a record 206 for four in 20 overs.

Peshawar, needing over 10 runs an over from the onset, made a spirited reply with Kamran Akmal racing to 36 before Hazratullah hit his first scoring-shot – a six off Blessing Muzarabani – before being dismissed a ball later.

Five balls later, Kamran (36, 28b, 5x4, 1x6) was cleaned up by Imran Khan Snr as Peshawar Zalmi slipped from 36 for no loss in five overs to 42 to two and then 63 for three at the halfway stage to eventually finish at 159 for nine in 20 overs.

Shoaib Malik (48, 28b, 3x4, 3x6) and Rovman Powell (23, 14b, 2x4, 1x6) put up a brief middle-order resistance and fightback in a 66-run fourth wicket partnership, but it was Multan Sultans’ evening as Imran Tahir finished with figures of three for 33, Blessing Muzarabani claimed with two for 26 and Imran Khan Snr bagged two for 27.

Not surprisingly, Multan Sultans swept the individuals awards of the HBL PSL 2021, which was a recognition and reward for their outstanding comeback in the tournament that had seen them reeling in fifth place on the points table when the competition resumed in the Sheikhdom on 9 June.

Sohaib clinched the player of the final and player of the tournament trophies along with the best batsman of the tournament award, Shahnawaz Dahani was adjudged the best bowler and best emerging cricketer of the tournament, and Mohammad Rizwan was named as the best wicketkeeper of the tournament by an independent panel, comprising David Gower, Nadeem Khan, Pommie Mbangwa, Ramiz Raja and Sana Mir.

Iftikhar Ahmed of Islamabad United disrupted Sultans’ dominance on the individual awards by winning the best fielder of the tournament trophy.

The pleasant evening in Abu Dhabi was made a memorable one by Sohaib and Rossouw, who played breathtaking knocks in their 98-run third wicket partnership off 44 balls to set a record total in a HBL Pakistan Super League final of 206 for four in 20 overs.

While Sohaib played delightful and elegant strokes all around the park, Rossouw matched his partner by displaying his big match temperament in a knock that comprised sizzling and stunning shots.

The two batsmen virtually destroyed a strong and formidable Peshawar Zalmi as the bowlers tried valiantly to hide for cover, while the fielders fumbled to concede extra runs. This is evident from the fact that Sultans were 42-0 after the powerplay overs, 73-1 at the halfway stage, 139-2 after 15 overs before collecting 67 runs off the last five overs.

Sohaib and Rossouw, however, were provided the luxury and freedom to play with easy and without any pressure by openers Shan Masood and Mohammad Rizwan, who gave Sultans a 68-run start in their first-ever final appearance.

Shan was first to depart after his 29-ball 37 with six fours, while Rizwan followed him 15 runs later in a run-a-ball 30 with two fours and a six.

For Peshawar Zalmi, Sameen Gul, a late replacement for Umaid Asif, justified his selection by returning figures of 4-0-26-2, while Mohammad Imran claimed two wickets for 47 runs.

Player of the final – Sohaib Maqsood (Multan Sultans) (65 not out)


Player of HBL PSL 2021 – Sohaib Maqsood (Multan Sultans) (428 runs 5x50s, avg 47.55, strike-rate 156.77)


Best Batsman of HBL PSL 2021 – Sohaib Maqsood (Multan Sultans) (428 runs 5x50s, avg 47.55, strike-rate 156.77)


Best Bowler of HBL PSL 2021 – Shahnawaz Dahani (Multan Sultans) (20 wickets)


Best Wicketkeeper of HBL PSL 2021 – Mohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans) (20 dismissals)


Best Emerging Cricketer of HBL PSL 2021 – Shahnawaz Dahani (Multan Sultans) (20 wickets)


Best Fielder of HBL PSL 2021 – Iftikhar Ahmed (Islamabad United) (nine catches)

Fall of wickets

Multan Sultans
Fall of wickets: 1-68 (Shan Masood - 8.4 ov), 2-83 (Mohammad Rizwan - 10.6 ov), 3-181 (Rilee Rossouw - 18.2 ov), 4-181 (Johnson Charles - 18.3 ov)

Peshawar Zalmi
Fall of wickets: 
1-42 (Hazratullah Zazai - 5.2 ov), 2-42 (Kamran Akmal - 6.1 ov), 3-58 (Jonathan Wells - 9.2 ov), 4-124 (Rovman Powell - 14.1 ov), 5-137 (Shoaib Malik - 15.1 ov), 6-150 (Sherfane Rutherford - 16.3 ov), 7-151 (Wahab Riaz - 16.5 ov), 8-151 (Mohammad Imran - 16.6 ov), 9-151 (Amad Butt - 17.2 ov)


Multan Sultans– Mohammad Rizwan (c), Hammad Azam, Imran Tahir, Imran Khan Snr, Johnson Charles, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Umar, Obed McCoy, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rilee Rossouw, Shahnawaz Dhani, Shan Masood, Shimron Hetmyer (partially available), Sohaib Maqsood, Sohaibullah, Sohail Khan, Sohail Tanvir, Usman Qadir and Muhammad Waseem

Peshawar Zalmi– Wahab Riaz (c), Abrar Ahmed, Amad Butt, Bismillah Khan, David Miller (partially available), Fabian Allen (partially available), Fidel Edwards (partially available), Haider Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Amir Khan, Mohammad Irfan Snr, Mohammad Imran, Mohammad Imran Randhawa, Rovman Powell, Waqar Salamkheil, Sherfane Rutherford, Shoaib Malik, and Umaid Asif

©Cricket World 2021