< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Mumbai Beat Delhi To Stay In Contention

Harbhajan Singh took the key wicket of Kevin Pietersen as Mumbai beat Delhi by 15 runs
Harbhajan Singh took the key wicket of Kevin Pietersen as Mumbai beat Delhi by 15 runs
©REUTERS / Action Images

Mumbai Indians 173 (Hussey 56) beat
Delhi Daredevils 158-4 by 15 runs
Indian Premier League 2014, Mumbai

The Mumbai Indians beat the Delhi Daredevils by 15 runs to retain some hope of qualifying for the Indian Premier League 2014 play-offs.

For Delhi, this was their 11th defeat of a dismal season but Mumbai's sixth win means they can still qualify if the Rajasthan Royals and the Sunrisers Hyderabad slip up.

Their win was built around runs from their top order and a disciplined bowling performance that limited Delhi to 158 for four in reply to 173 all out.

Following his unbeaten century against the Kings XI Punjab, Lendl Simmons looked in good touch once again but this time made it only to 35 in 25 ball before falling to Imran Tahir.

Opening partner Michael Hussey carried on where he had left off, and stroked 56 in 33 balls with seven fours and two sixes.

With support coming from Rohit Sharma (30 in 21) a huge score looked inevitable for Mumbai before Delhi hit back.

Tahir returned three for 37, Jaidev Unadkat two for 24 and there was a wicket apiece for Wayne Parnell  and Shahbaz Nadeem as Mumbai failed to even bat out their 20 overs, dismissed three balls short.

However, their early scoring had enabled them to post a score that would prove to be beyond Delhi.

They lost Murali Vijay (8) and Dinesh Karthik (7) early to Shreyas Gopal and Marchant de Lange respectively while Kevin Pietersen's quick-fire 44 in 31 balls ended when he was bowled by Harbhajan Singh.

Karthik's dismissal left them at 61 for three and although Manoj Tiwary (41 in 31 balls) and JP Duminy (45 not out in 29 balls with four sixes) struck up a partnership worth 85 for the fourth wicket, even that was not enough to rescue Delhi from their slow start.

Tiwary became de Lange's second wicket as the South African speedster marked his IPL debut with two for 32.

Gopal returned one for 20 and Harbhajan one for 30 and only Jasprit Bumrah, who went for 36 in four overs, conceded more than eight runs per over for Mumbai.

© Cricket World 2014