< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune Supergiants to kick-start 2016 IPL

Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune Supergiants to kick-start 2016 IPL
Mumbai Indians will look to defend their championship title in the 2016 season.

The 2016 Indian Premier League (IPL) will get underway on 9th April at the Wankhede Stadium with the defending champions Mumbai Indians taking on the Rising Pune Supergiants in the tournament opener.

The schedule of the upcoming season of the IPL has been announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India with a total of 60 matches to be played in 51 days across 10 venues.

The chairman of the IPL, Rajiv Shukla, expressed his excitement for the upcoming season of the tournament and is looking forward to see some thrilling contests.

“All the top players from around the world will be seen in action this year.

“This season the IPL will be played at 10 venues - Mohali, Delhi, Mumbai, Nagpur, Pune, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Rajkot and Raipur.

“I am excited to join the fans to see a lot of exciting cricket over the next three months.”

Apart from the eight home venues of the respective teams, Raipur will host two games of Delhi Daredevils while Kings XI Punjab will play three matches in Nagpur.

The final of the tournament, which is currently in its ninth season, will be held on 29th May at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

The first qualifier and the eliminator in the play-offs will be hosted in Bangalore on 24th and 25th May respectively while Pune will be the venue for the second qualifier which will be played on 27th May.

© Cricket World 2016