Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Mumbai Indians beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 5 runs in IPL thriller

Virat Kohli's Royal Challengers Bangalore lose again
Jasprit Bumrah 3-20 for Mumbai Indians
Rohit Sharma 48 for Mumbai Indians

Royal Challengers Bangalore won the toss and decided to bowl against Mumbai Indians at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore today in the IPL.


Match Summary

Mumbai Indians 187-8 (Rohit Sharma 48, Suryakumar Yadav 38, Hardik Pandya 32*; Yuzvendra Chahal 4-38, Umesh Yadav 2-26, Mohammed Siraj 2-38)

Royal Challengers Bangalore 181-5 (AB de Villiers 70*, Virat Kohli 46, Parthiv Patel 31; Jasprit Bumrah 3-20)

Result – Mumbai Indians won by 6 runs


Tournament Stats and Points Table

Royal Challengers Bangalore had a terrible start to this IPL season as they got bundled out for just 70 runs in the opening match against Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai also suffered a loss in their first game, but fought harder. So this match was a must win for both sides, to get their respective campaigns kick started.

Asked to bat first, Mumbai Indians scored a competitive 187-8 with Rohit Sharma 48, Suryakumar Yadav 38 and Hardik Pandya 32* the main run getters and Yuzvendra Chahal 4-38, Umesh Yadav 2-26 and Mohammed Siraj 2-38 the wicket takers for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

In reply, Royal Challengers Bangalore came up 5 runs short in the run chase finishing on 181-5, with AB de Villiers 70*, Virat Kohli 46 and Parthiv Patel 31 the top scorers and Jasprit Bumrah 3-20 the star with the ball for Mumbai Indians.

Royal Challengers Bangalore have now lost their first two matches and will need to rethink their game plan if they are to get going in this season’s IPL.


Royal Challengers Bangalore - Virat Kohli(c), Parthiv Patel(wk), Moeen Ali, AB de Villiers, Shimron Hetmyer, Shivam Dube, Colin de Grandhomme, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Mumbai Indians - Rohit Sharma(c), Quinton de Kock(wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Yuvraj Singh, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Mayank Markande, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah

© Cricket World 2019