Mumbai Indians Stay Alive With Big Win

Kieron Pollard hits a six
Kieron Pollard took a wicket and then hit three sixes as Mumbai kept themselves in the hunt
©REUTERS / Action Images

Mumbai Indians 165-1 (Simmons 76no) beat
Southern Express 161-6 by nine wickets
CLT20 2014 qualifier, Raipur

The Mumbai Indians kept their Champions League T20 2014 qualification hopes alive by hammering Southern Express by nine wickets in game four of the qualification tournament in Raipur.

Although both sides could still qualify depending on exact results in Tuesday's final round of matches, Mumbai are better placed, with a positive net run-rate going into their final match against Northern Districts.

Nevertheless, Southern Express can still make it but to do so, they must beat the Lahore Lions and then hope that Mumbai lose if they are to progress.

In this match, the Sri Lankans gave themselves every chance by posting 161 for six before Mumbai's top order overcame an uncertain start to blast them past their target with 22 balls to spare - boosting their net run-rate in the process.

Top scorer for Southern Express was Farveez Maharoof, who hit an unbeaten 41 in 22 balls, adding to earlier contributions of 30 from Danushka Gunathilaka, 28 from Angelo Perera and 16 from captain Jehan Mubarak.

Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard, Jalaj Saxena, Pragyan Ojha and Lasith Malinga, who was playing against the side he captained as they qualified for this stage, all took a wicket apiece.

In reply, Mumbai were briefly kept in check by the Sri Lankan bowlers, and were 39 without loss after the first six overs, but soon accelerated effectively.

Lendl Simmons would go on to hit an unbeaten 76 in 51 balls and Mike Hussey 60 in 40 as they put on 139 for the first wicket.

They had reached 77 in 10 overs and the century stand came up in the 13th over before Hussey was caught by Perera off left-arm spinner Sachith Pathirana.

Pollard then came in and blasted 20 not out in three balls, the final of his three sixes ending the match in emphatic style.

© Cricket World 2014