< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

CLT20: Mumbai Thrash Scorchers, Knock Out Otago

Rohit drives
Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma guided his side to victory in Delhi.
©Action Images / Paul Harding

Mumbai Indians 152-4 (Rohit 51no) beat
Perth Scorchers 149-6 by 6 wickets
Champions League T20, Group A Match, Delhi

Dwayne Smith and Rohit Sharma blasted Mumbai Indians into the semi-finals of the Champions League T20 as they won their final group game against a hapless Perth Scorchers. Mumbai chased down their target of 150 in just 13.2 overs, meaning that they knock Otago out of the competition on net run rate.

Nathan Coulter-Nile had starred with the ball for Mumbai, taking three for 19 from his four overs, but it was the batsmen who deserve most of the plaudits for the way in which they pulled off the run chase under pressure. To qualify for the semi-finals, they had to overhaul their target in 14.3 overs or fewer to leapfrog Otago in the final table.

Despite losing Sachin Tendulkar for a duck in Jason Behrendorff’s opening over, they got off to a rollicking start thanks to Barbadian Dwayne Smith. He ensured that by the time he was third man out for 48 off just 25 balls his side had reached 72 early in the seventh over.

Rohit Sharma then took over from Smith and blazed four sixes during his 24-ball stay at the crease which yielded 51 runs. He added 65 in 37 balls with Kieron Pollard (23 off 18 balls) for the fourth-wicket, with Ambati Rayudu then finishing the match with a brace of sixes off Ashton Agar.

As expected, a couple of the Perth bowlers took a battering, with Joel Paris going for 36 runs from two wicket-less overs and Agar conceding 23 runs from just eight balls. Brad Hogg (3-0-26-2) and Behrendorff (3-0-31-2) were the wicket-takers as Mumbai won by six wickets.

The Scorchers had earlier been given a solid, if unspectacular, start after being asked to bat. Openers Ashton Agar and Simon Katich put on 55 in 9.2 overs, with Agar eventually falling to Pragyan Ojha for 35 off 40 balls. Ojha then bowled Katich for 13 later in the same over.

Hilton Cartwright and debutant Sam Whiteman added 58 for the third-wicket, with the latter ending unbeaten on 51 off 32 balls. Coulter-Nile, though, bowled well at the end of the innings, bowling Cartwright for 28 and removing Ashton Turner (0) and Marcus North (3). Rishi Dhawan also chipped in with the wicket of wicket-keeper Tom Triffitt as Perth finished on 149 for six.

© Cricket World 2013