< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Munro named in New Zealand squad for T20I Tri-Series against England and Australia

Colin Munro missed the third T20I against Pakistan
Colin Munro missed the third T20I against Pakistan

As a big boost to New Zealand ahead of the upcoming Twenty20 International tri-series against England and Australia, hard-hitting opening batsman Colin Munro has been named in the 14-man squad.

Munro missed the third and final T20I against Pakistan due to a hamstring injury that he sustained in the second game but is now expected to be fit for the tournament opener against Australia in Sydney on 3rd February.

National selector Gavin Larsen remained optimistic of Munro's chances of regaining full fitness and highlighted on his impact in the limited overs cricket.

"Colin has been assessed and we're optimistic he will be fine by Sunday," New Zealand selector Gavin Larsen said.

"We've seen how big an impact Colin has in white-ball cricket, so we're looking forward to having him back."

Glenn Phillips and Lockie Ferguson are the players to miss out on selection with Tom Blundell being the preferred option for wicket-keeper. The squad also features two specialist spinners Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner as Larsen believes traditionally the Sydney Cricket Ground takes turn.

"Historically we've seen that the SCG can spin a little bit, so it's important that we have options in that area," Larsen said.

"Mitchell and Ish are our key guys, but having the likes of Anaru and Kane to do a job if need be is important as well."

The series will be played between 3rd and 21st February with the final to be played in Auckland.

New Zealand squad for Tri-Series:

Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell (wk), Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Anaru Kitchen, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Ben Wheeler.

© Cricket World 2018