< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Munro, McCullum powers Trinbago Knight Riders to winning start in CPL 2017

Shadab Khan made an impressive debut to CPL
Shadab Khan made an impressive debut to CPL
©CPL T20

Trinbago Knight Riders 137-1 (Munro 66no) beat
St Lucia Stars 132-9 (Shadab 2-15) by nine wickets
First match, Caribbean Premier League, St Lucia

After two wicket hauls from Shadab Khan and Dwayne Bravo restricted St Lucia Stars to 132 for nine, fifties from Brendon McCullum and Colin Munro ensured Trinbago Knight Riders chased down the target in 10.4 overs with nine wickets in hand in the opening game of the Caribbean Premier League T20 at Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium.

Trinbago Knight Riders won the toss and opted to bowl first. Johnson Charles (2) and Kamran Akmal (5) fell early in the innings while Andre Fletcher (26), Marlon Samuels (13) and Jesse Ryder (18) got starts but failed to carry on big.

Shadab (2-15), Sunil Narine (0-24) and Bravo (2-23) controlled the middle overs brilliantly and it needed a 15-ball cameo from Kyle Mayers (23) to lift the total to 132 for nine in the 20 overs.

In the chase, Sunil Narine (0) was castled in the first over bowled by Jerome Taylor (1-22), who remained the only wicket taker for St Lucia Stars.

But McCullum (58 not out) and Munro (66 not out) shared an unbeaten 132 run stand as they smashed nine boundaries and 10 sixes between them to complete the chase in just 10.4 overs with nine wickets in hand.

Shadab was named the player of the match for setting up the victory with tidy spell of bowling.

© Cricket World 2017