< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Murali Vijay returns to India Test squad for Sri Lanka series

Murali Vijay last played for India in March during the home series against Australia
Murali Vijay last played for India in March during the home series against Australia

Tamil Nadu opening batsman Murali Vijay has returned to the India squad for the first two Tests against Sri Lanka scheduled to be played next month.

Vijay sustained a wrist injury following the conclusion of the home Test series against Australia in March and had to undergo a surgery in England that forced him to miss India's tour of Sri Lanka which Virat Kohli's men went on to win 3-0.

He will replace his Ranji Trophy teammate Abhinav Mukund in the squad and will be partnering with Lokesh Rahul at the top of the order while Shikhar Dhawan, who was named the man of the series in the tour of Sri Lanka will also be in contention for the opening slot.

Virat Kohli will continue to lead the squad but chief selector MSK Prasad did admit that there is a chance the 28-year-old might be rested for the limited overs series to follow as a part of managing workload.

"With regard to Virat Kohli there has been some speculation that he’s going to be rested for the whole of Sri Lanka series,” Prasad told reporters on Monday.

"It’s not right. Yes, as far as test series is concerned, he’s going to play and at some point of time, the rotation policy that we’re following will also apply to the captain.

"We’re also monitoring his workload - he’s been playing continuously right from the IPL. We need to give him a break and we will consider after the test series."

Meanwhile, Naman Ojha has been named the skipper for the Board President's XI squad that will take on Sri Lanka in a two day warm-up game on 11th and 12th November in Kolkata.

India will play three each of Tests, ODIs and T20Is against Sri Lanka between 16th November and 24th December following which they will head to South Africa for a full fledged tour.

India squad for first two Tests: Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Indian Board President XI squad for warm-up game: Naman Ojha (captain, wk), Sanju Samson, Jiwanjot Singh, B Sandeep, Tanmay Agarwal, Abhishek Gupta, Rohan Prem, Akash Bhandari, Jalaj Saxena, CV Milind, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Warrier, Ravi Kiran.

© Cricket World 2017