< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Mushfiqur, Shakib resist India attack on day three

Shakib Al Hasan top scored with 82 runs
Shakib Al Hasan top scored with 82 runs

India 687-6 dec (Kohli 204) v
Bangladesh 322-6 (Shakib 82)
Only Test, day three, Hyderabad

Following early strikes from the Indian bowlers, fifties from Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan and Mehedi Hasan led Bangladesh fightback to take them to 322 for six at stumps on day three of the Only Test in Hyderabad.

Bangladesh resumed the day at 41 for one. In the third over of the day, Tamim Iqbal (24) was run out while searching for a non-existing second run.

In the 21st over bowled by Bhuvneshwar Kumar (0-46), Mahmudullah (28) survived a review from India but Umesh Yadav (2-72) trapped Mominul Haque (12) LBW to leave Bangladesh reeling at 64 for three.

After a 45-run stand with Shakib Al Hasan (82), Mahmudullah departed after misjudging a Ishant Sharma (1-54) delivery and was dismissed LBW. He used a review but went in vain. Bangladesh went into lunch at 125 for four.

Shakib started the second session with two boundaries and had the company of Bangladesh skipper Rahim (81 not out).

Just after the pair reached the 50-run stand, Rahim survived a close run out appeal where the third umpire gave him the benefit of doubt. However, that was after Shakib reached his fifty.

With a flurry of boundaries, Shakib brought the 100-run stand with Rahim but soon after holed out to mid on while trying to take on Ravichandran Ashwin (1-77).

Just at the stroke of tea, Ravindra Jadeja (1-60) dismissed Sabbir Rahman (16) LBW as Bangladesh went into tea at 246 for six.

Mehedi (51 not out) looked aggressive in the final session and Rahim also reached his 16th Test fifty. The pair kept the Indian bowlers at bay with their unbeaten 87-run stand to take Bangladesh to 322 for six in 104 overs.

Mehedi brought his fifty in the penultimate over of the day as Bangladesh dominated the final two sessions and now trail India by 365 runs with four wickets in hand.

© Cricket World 2017